Shark WV200UK Review

https://www.thegrade.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Shark-WV200UK.png
Product Review
87%
The Grade
Experts Say
85.33%
Consumers Say
89%

What the experts say

good housekeeping logo

9 /10

The Shark WV200UK was considered a good performer by Good Housekeeping, but quite expensive considering it couldn’t perform bigger tasks and was limited by a 10-minute running time, meaning it might not even have enough charge to get through a once over in the car. Ease of use was considered good and the tools can be stored in the base, but the small bin and need to tap the filter clean on each empty was frustrating.

trusted reviews logo

9 /10

Trusted Reviews felt the WV200UK delivered excellent suction considering its small size and found the build quality to be excellent, but found it needed to be emptied very regularly thanks to its small bin size. It was also considered to be expensive considering it only worked as a handheld vacuum.

expert reviews logo

8 /10

Expert Reviews was very impressed with the design of the WV200UK and found it surprisingly powerful for its small size. Battery life however was a disappointment and the higher price of the two battery model was offputting.

What users say

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
Perfect in every way.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Love at first sight
This thing is AMAZING.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Outstanding Product
Outstanding product - very easy to use and empty, has very strong suction, is easy to clean, and well put together. I like the fact that the filter can be washed out rather than having to replace. Would absolutely buy again- it is far better than any other handheld portable car vacuum I have ever had in the past.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
Works well. Not as good as a corded vacuum but great for small quick jobs

31 Mar 2021

6 /10

Unfortunately Returned
Great design - like the long skinny body and no-touch empty button. Very powerful too! BUT it is deafening; The motor has a screaming high pitch that made me clench my teeth while using. Worse than a dentist's drill. I had to return it.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Easy to Use - Worth every Penny
This vacuum is very easy to use. What I like best is how easy it is to remove and insert the vacuum into the home base. Due to an ongoing elbow injury I had a difficult time inserting and removing an old Shark vacuum from its base. I also like it's sleek design. For me the cost is worth it.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great little vacuum
I've had the vacuum for about a month. I needed it for pet hair, especially on furniture and in crevices. Its great for those purposes. After charging it runs for about 10 minutes, knowing that I use it once a day, rotating areas of my home that need it. Its lightweight & easy to clean. It does have a high pitch to it but I didn't find it louder than my other vacuum. FWIW, any review I read that notes a product was given to the reviewer by the maker, I completely disregard. I was surprised at how many Target reviews are in this group.

31 Mar 2021

8 /10

Works well for my needs!
Is this vacuum for everyone? No. Does it work well for my needs? Heck yeah. It is light weight and easy to use. I am a tad shorter than average person so it helps me reach into the deep shelves at work and vacuums up the dust. The grip is a straight-up cylinder so I can grasp it whichever way is more convenient for my task unlike some vacuums that have overly complex (and often too large) handles. The dust bin is a bit small; about a half cup volume? So its not great for big jobs but rather suited for daily up-keeping. I have very sensitive ears so when I read that it could be loud I was a bit worried. So I did what any reasonable person with my condition would do. I added foam ear-plugs to my cart rather than upscale to a Dyson. Most vacuums are too loud for me anyway. Yes, the vacuum can be a tad shrill on an empty bin but with the ear-plugs I don't notice at all! It can run for nearly ten minutes on a full battery and recharges quickly. The filter captures a lot of dust and is easy to access and clean. Comes with two heads; one for fabric surfaces (I haven't used this) and another for dusting/corners (works great and adds almost half a foot to my reach). I like the design so I leave it out on the counter for easy access to life's daily little messes. Thanks to this little vacuum our office has never looked so clean!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
Love it .... basically bought it for car... but use it around house also. Very powerful...

31 Mar 2021

2 /10

Powerful suction but battery life is too short
I can’t recommend this vac despite the strong suction. Less than 10-15 minutes of usage is way too short. I will look for alternative

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
Still new to me but have used it to collect dog hair from a couch and for cleaning the tracks on my sliding glass door and sliding windows. The tracks have never been so clean. East to use and fast.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
Powerful suction. Great handheld device. Best I have owned.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Small and Powerful
We had our last dust buster for 7 years and it finally broke. I saw this one on sale and it has been amazing. Super strong suction, much smaller than the last one, and so much easier to empty the dust trap. It is a bit loud but that's the only negative I have.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Amazing vacuum!
I purchased this vacuum a week ago and I am obsessed! I have little kids and pets so there is always something to clean up. This vacuum is amazing. It has so much power, holds a charge and takes up very little room. I am considering buying a second one. I LOVE it! Highly recommend it.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
This vacuum is the best!!! I have 2 teenagers, 3 dogs and 3 indoor bunnies. I use it everywhere. I am a clean freak so this just makes my life so much easier instead of dragging out my other shark vacuum. Highly recommend!!!!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

THE BEST HANDHELD CORDLESS
I needed a small cordless vacuum to keep in the kitchen for small (but frequent) messes.. this is the winner!! Sleek enough to leave on the counter top, SUPER EASY TO CLEAN even the filters, the battery has actually never died on me while using it. The only con I can find is that you do need to put on the attachment to get the full suction power.

31 Mar 2021

2 /10

Poor Suction
It’s not a terrible product. However, it doesn’t live up to the Shark’s Name. I thought that the suction would be outstanding like my other Shark. But unfortunately, that’s not one of its best qualities. I will add that the charging station and compartmental size is the highlight!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
There is nothing I don’t like about this vacuum. Actually family members that have used it have also purchased one.

31 Mar 2021

4 /10

Very light, but super loud and poor at picking up things
This is super light, but that's really the only positive. It makes a very loud, annoying, shrilly sound. And despite that, which you might assume means it is very powerful, it really doesn't have that much power and is very poor at picking up things (which is the whole point of a vacuum!).

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great
I have used this frequently since purchasing 7 months ago. It cleans up small messes well. The motor isn't too loud. Trash is easy to dispose of.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Handy and Powerful
Purchased a week ago and so far I like it. I wanted something small and powerful to use in car, kitchen and bathroom drawers where small particles always accumulate over time. I have a large kitchen cabinet with an outlet, so is always nearby and charged for immediate use.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great little vac!
Only had it a few days but so far so good! Suctioning is strong and it’s extremely lightweight. A little louder than I expected but I’ll gladly take the noise for the quality.

17 Mar 2021

10 /10

Small but powerful.
Small but powerful. When I first opened and saw how small the capacity was I thought I wasn't going to like it. But the suction on it is great! The previous brand I had had a much larger capacity but not as good of suction. This one as well is much easier to empty out. Just by pressing the button on top the compartment is in a hinge and flips open right in the trash. Then it just click it shut once empty. Overall happy with the performance.

05 Feb 2021

10 /10

Excellent Find
This little handheld is vacuum is excellent for corners and pet hair on hardwood floors. The vac recharge stand is cleverly built to stand up so it does not take up a lot of space. It is simple to turn on and to empty. The gray color makes the fav unobtrusive and the LED light indicates cates charging/energy status. I would recommend to anyone.

06 Jan 2021

8 /10

Shark Wandvac
The Sharp Wandvac works really good. My wife and I both love it. It’s size and shape allow cleaning in places other models can’t get to. The power is significantly better than previous hand holds we have owned. The only reason I don’t give it 5 stars is because it doesn’t allow for wall mounting. One last thing which is neither good or bad is at first I hit the button to open and release the dirt release instead of the on off button and dumped it on the floor, but that only happened a couple times before I got the buttons memorized.

17 Nov 2020

10 /10

How did I get on without it!
It’s Shark it’s brilliant! Bit pricey yeah but really is very good, vacuums the stairs as good as an upright and so much safer than balancing with the upright!

27 Oct 2020

10 /10

Pros: This vacuum cleaner is small and powerful, extremely easy to use. You can empty it by using one button only, no need for dust bags. At home, we use our shark for quick cleaning of rugs, carpets or sofas after children’s play. It will also be brilliant for cleaning a car.
Cons: It last longer than any other handheld vacuum cleaner we had, however I still find we need to charge it often.

13 Oct 2020

2 /10

Looks great, almost useless
If you are looking for something to clear up crumbs, dust and pet hair then you would be better off with a dustpan and brush. If you are looking for a vacuum cleaner then you are looking in the wrong place. A full charge lasts less than ten minutes and trying to remove pet hair from a stair with this takes longer than that! Please don’t waste your money, this really is an example of overpriced style over substance.

27 Sep 2020

10 /10

Pros: Excellent bit of kit. Have used it far more than I thought I would.
Cons: Reviewer left no comment

13 Sep 2020

10 /10

Pros: It's light, compact, easy to use and powerful. It gets into all the difficult corners the vacuum cleaner doesn't reach and makes the stairs so easy to clean. It charges quite quickly and works for 5-10 minutes before needing to go back on charge.It's exactly what I needed and I'm very pleased with it.
Cons: Nothing at all.

12 Sep 2020

10 /10

Pros: It's lightweight, it's slim, it picks up everything and it's so easy to empty. Plus it's cheaper than a Dyson!
Cons: Reviewer left no comment

22 Jul 2020

10 /10

Brilliant
Brilliant! Best gadget I’ve bought by far! A little noisy, but who cares! Light and easy to use! Suction is great! Best hand held vac I’ve bought! And I’ve bought quite a few! Definitely would recommend.

09 Apr 2020

10 /10

This I well worth the money!!
My partner didn’t want to buy this out of our joint account because it was a waste of money and we didn’t need it!! Guess what happened.....I paid for it and now he uses it more than I do! Typical! Great product, great section and easy for those little messes!

07 Jan 2020

6 /10

All Good
Good all round vacuum handy for the car although it doesn’t have a 12v charger so have to leave it on charge in the house. Seems to pick up more than it appears when you empty it so obviously works.

20 Oct 2019

2 /10

It doesn’t pick anything up
It doesn’t do what I got it for and I’m very disappointed. I got it for the car but it doesn’t pick anything up and was a waste of money for me

30 May 2019

10 /10

Lightweight, powerful and does the job well!
After buying a cheap handheld hoover that was rubbish and didn’t even suck up a crumb I bit the bullet and invested in this one instead! This is by far the best handheld hoover I have ever used! Super powerful and lifts up everything in seconds! It’s lightweight and easy to use! Easy to charge and doesn’t take too long! Don’t expect to clean your whole house with this because the battery does only last for around 8 minutes but for easy small jobs this tool is perfect!

24 Apr 2019

10 /10

A superb buy
Love this so much. Although more expensive than others on the market - worth every penny. Very powerful

13 Mar 2019

2 /10

Shark Hoover. Not as good as it looks
My shark just doesn't seem to work correctly. The on off button is very hit and miss if it turns on. And the button to empty is very close to the on off button. So me careful not to empty contents out on what you have cleaned. Her disappointed. For the money it cost.

30 Jan 2019

8 /10

Good but not a Dyson
The wife loves her handheld shark and its brilliant for getting in places the Dyson cant plus not always changing head like the Dyson. Works well in our home as we have corded and cordless Dyson so this is perfect for the bits my daughter drops from high chair or quick whip round the car. Definatly a good useful product but don't expect it to replace another Hoover at home as in our opinion it's an extra bit of kit to work with our other Hoovers

30 Nov 2018

8 /10

Light Weight and Sleek!
I absolutely love this Hand Vac! Initially when opening the box I thought that it was a very thin and light vac that was not going to work, I was wrong! I have owned other dust- busters and have gone through a couple in the past couple of years. I love that this is sleek, and I also feel like it’s much more hygienic, I don’t have to deal with the gross mesh filter that my old Dustbuster has. And I can literally SEE everything that I vacuumed up! I recently put up my flocked Christmas tree and the imitation snow is always falling all over the place... I vacuum it up within seconds! The attachments are also super easy to use. I would definitely recommend!

19 Nov 2018

8 /10

Highly Portable & Ergonomic Hand-Vac
==== Summary ==== The Shark Ion W1 hand-held vacuum is a great little product that balances many things out very well. It is light, ergonomic, easy to operate & charge, easy to clean & maintain, and has enough suction power to clean up most things. I found it most useful when vacuuming my cars, ceiling fans, and getting those little crevices on and between furniture. It's good stuff. *Pros: -Light (1.4 lbs) and well-balanced. -Ergonomic and easy to hold. -Easy maneuverability to get at those little spots & crevices. -Simple cleanup and maintenance. -For its size, it's decently powerful. -Cool battery charging dock with LED light indicator. *Neutral: -The motor sometimes emits a high-pitched whine during longer use. -Needs a charge after about 10 minutes. -Has a difficult time sucking up very small debris. *Cons: -None. ==== Design ==== I'm really liking the design of the Shark Ion W1. I prefer its stick-like form-factor to my other hand-held vacuum cleaner which is a gun-like trigger design. At 1.4 lbs, it is light and manageable and I found it very easy to navigate and maneuver through tight spaces. Emptying the dust cup is a simple one-button press operation and all the parts that can be cleaned are easily and quickly accessible. I like that the filter can be cleaned by simply running it underneath some water and letting it dry for 24 hours. The charging dock accepts the vacuum smoothly and perfectly and I appreciate the blinking LED light indicators that show the charge status of the vacuum at a quick glance. The included accessories - a Multi-Surface Pet Tool and Duster Crevice Tool - slide into the Ion easily and work well as intended. The build quality and fit-and-finish of the Ion W1 are fantastic. ==== Functionality & Performance ==== The Ion W1 - with its 14.4 V, 11.1 A, 120W brushless motor - delivers good but not phenomenal performance when it comes to picking up debris. I first used the Ion to vacuum the interior of my 4-door sedan and it took multiple passes before it picked up all the debris on the floor mats and on the seats. The Ion had difficulty picking up really small debris such as beach sand, clingy pet hair, and tiny grass debris. Still, I'd say it managed to get rid of about 95% of debris which is impressive considering its small size and low amperage power. The Ion did much better when I used it to dust up around the house. It picked up everything on my leather couch and other furniture and did a fantastic job sucking up the dust bunnies on my ceiling fans. As Shark describes it, the Ion is a great supplemental tool that one can quickly pull out and use for quick and simple jobs. Viewed in that light, its suction performance and approximately 10 to 15 minute battery life are fitting and adequate. For more heavy duty stuff, you just have to use different tools. With that said, I'm satisfied and content overall with the functionality and performance of the Ion W1 and I consider it a great addition to my cleaning arsenal. ==== Closing Thoughts ==== The Shark Ion W1 is a great supplemental cleaning tool to have around the house for cleaning up small messes for which you don't want to take out the bigger and heavier tools for. High portability, lightness, and simple cleanup and operation are its greatest strengths.

19 Nov 2018

8 /10

Surprising power in such a small unit
I've used numerous handheld vacs before but all of them seem to come up short in the power/suction department. Corded ones are great however I mainly use these handheld vacuums for cleaning my truck. As such, I was a bit leery of the power on such a small vacuum. I have carpeting in truck cab as well as the occasional dog hair. I figured if this vacuum could clean that up, I'd be happy. After a full charge, I was quite surprised at the suction power of this vacuum. It cleaned up embedded dog hair quite well, not perfect, but well enough for "clean". The crevice tool works great at getting dirt under the seat as well as the rogue french fry. Pretty happy with the performance of this. Only downside is the the battery doesn't last too long. The vacuum charges up pretty quick however it also goes through power pretty fast as well. I'm able to clean most of my truck cab but not all of it.

19 Nov 2018

10 /10

A High Tech Prodcut for A High Tech World
The Shark ION W1 Cordless Hand Vac has amazing power for such a small device. You can literally use it anywhere. Think of a place that dirt collects and this Hand Vac will remove it. I have had three cats consecutively for at least 23 years. But have been pet free for the last 2 years. All the time without a pet you would think that regular vacuuming and dusting would have removed most, if not all the pet hair and dander. I thought I would use the Shark cordless Hand Vac on the stairs just once to see how the suction was on the carpet. I have vacuumed the stairs in the house many times with an upright or a hand held canister vacuum. For years I did the stairs the same way and have even tried different vacuums. I always thought that the stairs were clean. One time over each step getting into the corners with the Shark and I was amazed. I was amazed at how much dirt was taken from the carpet and into the dust compartment of the vacuum. I had already filled a 1/3 compartment with cat hair and dust. This vacuum definitely does real power cleaning. Now I wonder what area should I try to vacuum next. My car has somehow collected a number of crushed leaves and leaf pieces on the floor liner. The Hand Vac had no trouble at all removing all that dirt and crumpled leaves on the floor of the car. It took only one pass and the dirt was gobbled up by the Hand Vac. I next tried it on chairs. I don’t know of anyone that consistently cleans the inside of the rocker chairs. So I thought I would tackle that next. The head of the Shark Hand Vac is long and skinny to get into the crevices of the chair. It did pick up dirt particles and whatever else was hiding in the chair. I was still pretty impressed. The one thing you are really not supposed to do, is vacuum anything that is wet. Nothing wet should touch the Shark Hand Vac. The dust and debris picked up by the Shark Hand Vac can be easily emptied from the dust container and dumped in the trash. A simple button on the other side, below the power button can be used to pop open the container and remove the dust from the Shark Hand Vac into the trash. If you need to clean the filter, it is right below the dust container and comes out where you can rinse it in water. You have to wait 24 hrs before you can put it back in. You don’t need to clean the filter every time you vacuum. It really depends on how much dirt you are vacuuming up. Charging is fast for the Shark Hand Vac in the cradle provided. You only really get 10 mins of power til it needs to be charged again. The Shark Hand Vac or wand (if you want to call it that) is lightweight, a little over a pound and ergonomically designed to be comfortable in your hands. It also that high tech look that people look for in a small appliance. Two tools come in the Shark Hand Vac package. There is a thinner tube and a pet piece that both connect into the suction end of the Hand Vac. The pieces narrow your area of clean, but are able to get more precision places. Lastly the power button when finished charging, will display a blue light. When the button is dimly light, the Hand Vac is ready to use. When the button is flashing that blue color, it is charging. If the button is not light at all, the Shark needs to be charged. If you are serious about cleaning with power and ease, the cordless Shark Hand Vac will definitely meet your needs and exceed your expectations.

18 Nov 2018

10 /10

Excellent hand vac that actually works
Shark engineers really came through again with this hand vacuum. It’s well designed, and laid out, so much easier to get into tight places compared to all the other hand vacs I’ve tried. I was skeptical when I saw the first photos of this hand vac, couldn’t believe they could get much suction in this narrow almost tubular design, I was wrong. The suction this little vac has is really amazing, it has no problem picking up dog hair, crumbs, dirt and just about anything it comes across. Even found an old neck strap that had fallen behind a desk, sucked it right up and fit the whole thing into the dirt container. I like how Shark added a little door between the intake and the dust cup that opens when running and shuts when off to help keep dirt from falling back out the nozzle. It comes with a charging base, with the power cord permanently attached. An upholstery nozzle and a crevice tool with folding dusting brush are also included. Just enough tools to make this a pretty versatile machine. The dust cup is very easy to empty, just a push on the sliding lever in front of the power switch and it swings down, “spring loaded” and sort of tosses the dirt out of the cup. You have to make sure you have it over and in the trash can or it can toss the dirt out where you don’t want it to go, but that’s not a drawback, that way you don’t have to go into the cup to get anything out. The dust cup also removes very easily for cleaning. There’s a little lever you press under the dust cup and slide it out of the machine. The filter is also very easy to get to, it’s at the back of the cup and there’s some imprinting to slide that section forward. Doing that, the filter assembly comes right out and you can then grab the metal handle of the filter and pull it away from the housing, couldn’t be easier. The filter itself looks like a miniature shop vac pleated one and according to the instructions it is washable. The whole device itself is very easy to clean and maintain. With amazing suction and a run time around 15minutes “continuous”, this is about as perfect of a hand vac as you can find. I found with using the crevice tool I could easily get in between our car seats and get all the little stuff my big shop vac nozzle couldn’t reach. It was also easy to get around and behind furniture due to the narrower design of the whole unit. Other hand vacs I’ve owned were just too wide to get behind and around things easily. I’ll be getting a couple more for Christmas presents, this will also make an excellent gift anyone can use.

26 Sep 2018

10 /10

Pros: Incredible suction with super easy and convenient charging, lightweight perfect for stairs. Attachments that make housework and cleaning the car quick and easy. Lightweight and an all round superb must have product.
Cons: Absolutely none