Samsung UE55TU8500 Review

https://www.thegrade.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Samsung-UE55TU8500.png
Product Review
92%
The Grade
Experts Say
90%
Consumers Say
93%

What the experts say

trusted reviews logo

9 /10

If you want to make the move from HD to 4K then Trusted Reviews thought the Samsung UE55TU8500 could be a good option that won't break the bank. As you would expect from a Samsung it had a load of smart features and an easy to use operating system. Its screen wasn't at the same level as more expensive models in the Samsung range, especially when it comes to HDR (essentially the contact between light and dark areas shades), but at this price it was felt you can't find a better TV. However, the sound is a bit lacklustre.

t3 logo

8 /10

T3 thought the Samsung UE55TU8500 was a great value choice and while it can't quite compete with the more expensive QLED range it does offer a great picture. Its dual LED backlighting gives great contrast, the HDR is satisfying (though far from the best performer) and, of course, it is 4K. It is great for movies and its game mode is very capable. The Tizen smart TV platform is also a plus.

what hifi logo

10 /10

This award winner is a great choice if you are on a budget according to What Hi-Fi. The TU8500 gives solid, crisp picture quality and deep, detailed blacks. What Hi-Fi did think the colour balance was a little off, but its all-round performance, coupled with its decent smart TV functions, make it a good value buy for the price.

What users say

11 Mar 2021

10 /10

Nice crystal picture
Best tv I ever bought good picture easy to set up love it...

28 Feb 2021

10 /10

Pros: Extremely easy to set up and very compatible with major apps, I. E. Utube, net fix, amazon, also the hubs and iplayer
Cons: Reviewer left no comment

30 Nov 2020

8 /10

Pros: Fast response, good quality picture.
Cons: Sometimes freezes. Apps dont open first time sometimes(requires reset)

28 Nov 2020

7 /10

Pros: It is a good TV, if you you just want to use it in its most basic form and don’t need some of the more complicated Smart TV functions. It also has a much better range of apps than rival TVs, including BT Sports and Apple TV, which was why I chose it.
Cons: Some of the apps don’t work very well. Eg the Apple TV app which is already installed cannot cast music from ITunes on a Windows PC, unlike an Apple TV device. The Samsung RT remote App is completely useless (I think it has now been withdrawn which I discovered when I tried to leave a review). I also contacted Samsung support to get help with some of the more complicated aspects of setting up and customising the interface, and found them to be slow, unhelpful and lacked detailed knowledge. The TV also lacks Freeview Play which I have found very useful on other TVs.

16 Sep 2020

10 /10

Very good TV
My first 4K TV and i can obviously notice the difference. Sound is brilliant and the apps included are useful. Was debating paying extra for an QLED TV, however for the price this is good enough.

16 Sep 2020

10 /10

55” TV great picture and sound
Great picture and sound on this 55” TV. Limited hassle to set up. 2 person job to attach to a wall bracket.

09 Sep 2020

8 /10

Nice TV
Excellent TV, picture quality very good much better than my old Philips and the sound is brilliant don't even need to put the sound bar on. Easy to set up and not to expensive.

08 Sep 2020

10 /10

Stunning TV. Packed with features
This is a great TV. Great picture quality if you change some of the setting out of the box. Sound is very good for a large TV. Comes with 2 remotes and voice activation using Bixby works great. Really good for gaming and has a game mode. Lots of apps to choose from and download. Stand is easy to fit .good connectivity and the TV isn't sluggish when switched on. A good sized TV packed with features it's a great buy.

03 Sep 2020

10 /10

Brilliant
Nice TVgood quality picture and sound . I am very happy...

02 Sep 2020

10 /10

I love it... Can access everything on it..
Can access anything be it Internet, YouTube or my Google images and video. Just awesome. And of course no connection issue.. I can operate it with my phone too when am lazy to find my remote.

25 Aug 2020

8 /10

Pros: I love the remote control because it’s small, simple and controls my sky box too
Cons: I looked everywhere to see what hertz the tv had, couldn’t find it until after the tv arrived. It’s only 60hz. I would have given 10’s across the board if it was 120hz (the higher the hz the less ‘stagger’ you get in the picture when the filming camera scrolls across.

21 Jul 2020

10 /10

My new TV is more than I expected
I got this TV as an upgrade from the TV I had, Good choice, It is better than I expected it to be, I have had it for 2 weeks and have still not got to the end of it’s features, I am pleased with it.

24 Jun 2020

10 /10

Fantastic quality TV
The picture is really good, the sound is excellent. We had to get used to using the voice option, makes life easier when searching for movies or on YouTube - you don’t need to type just use voice control. Overall really happy!

20 May 2020

9 /10

Pros: Picture, sound and ease of use
Cons: Centralised stand is better than almost all alternative TVs in this size/price point as it allows the TV to be placed on a variety of surface widths. Most have legs placed at the extreme width of the TV and will not sit on any surface that is less wide than the TV. However, it would be better if it could swivel on the centre point as my previous Samsung did.

19 May 2020

10 /10

Brilliant picture quality
a really good tv with fantastic picture quality.it was set up in 10 minutes with no hassles

10 /10

Excellent tv and service
bought this tv from richer sounds with 6 years warranty was very easy to set up using my Samsung phone. Used the satellite cable from our dish and have all the free sat HD channels

10 /10

Great picture and sound
We bought the tv a couple of weeks ago. Really pleased with our purchase. The picture and sound is brilliant.

10 /10

Great TV
I originally purchased the 7000 series Samsung and had an issue with the back light 40 days after delivery. I exchanged it for the UE55TU8500 and I am so happy I did!It is fast clear and the 4K is incredible. Much better than the 7000 series.

10 /10

Great service & Great product
Delivery was prompt, on time, and well organised, but that was to be expected. The service provided by Richer Sounds has, and hopefully continues to be, second to none.

10 /10

Picture quality which belies the price.
This TV was a replacement for a 50" LG UJ670V. I chose the Samsung as I already have a Samsung 55" MU6400 and was pleased with the picture on that one, which I found much better than the LG. The Samsung being a VA panel and the LG an IPS panel. The TV seems to do a great job of upscaling SD content to HD. I also prefer the settings menu on the Samsung. I was concerned with regards to the reviews saying that the brightness on this TV would be too dim for the room as it has a large 7'9" x 4'4" window plus a smaller window. I needn't have been concerned, as although the screen isn't facing the window, the TV is more than bright enough and I believe brighter than the LG. Contrast is excellent with some stunning blacks and bright whites with little to no hue around the whites on a black screen. Colours I found are excellent out of the box with standard being the best setting for my room. Motion is very good and the green pitch on the football is a more even colour with little to no dirty screen effect that the last TV was awful for. Sound is adequate for every day watching but no modern slim profile LED TV's are able to give cinematic sounds. I did plug a soundbar in but if you haven't attached one, you probably wont realise that you need one, unless you like your movie nights to be like the cinema. All in all I'm very pleased with the choice of make and model and has to be one of the best TV's at this price, giving great value for money. Richer Sounds as always gives brilliant advice, service which is second to none and their prices are most competitive.

10 /10

Great performance!
I went for this tv after looking at many others online, and I am very glad I did. It performs very well in all areas, high definition and 4k look truly amazing and wall mounted it looks superb on the wall. Only possible drawbacks I can think of is the edge lighting which is noticeable during some circumstances, and the fact all the connections are on the right side of the tv but that is being very picky indeed. Purchased with sound bar offer so even better value!

10 /10

Simply the best!
We have always bought from Richer Sounds and have never been let down by the product , the guidance or the service.We have just purchased this model Samsung and it is everything we asked forPutting it together A DoddleHow to use it Easy as pie.Picture quality Excellent.Great job

8 /10

Size matters
Delivery 10 days ago, put on stand until today when put on wall. Reasonable sized room but still looks big on wall (as did on stand) but that maybe just because we are not used to it. Excellent picture, sound good but going to buy a sound bar in the new year for concerts and opera. Very easy to use but still not explored all of the featuresVery good value. Picture quality exceeds sound