Samsung UE50TU8500 Review

https://mk0thegradew8rxpvnhw.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Samsung-UE50TU8500.png
Product Review
92%
The Grade
Experts Say
90%
Consumers Say
94%

What the experts say

what hifi logo

10 /10

What Hi-Fi considered the UE50TU8500 worthy of an award thanks to its deep and detailed blacks, crisp 4K and a wide selection of compatible apps. The colour balance was found to be a little off on the red side, but in general it was a very capable TV aimed at those on a budget.

t3 logo

8 /10

T3 considered the TU8500 to be a very solid affordable 4K TV that brings a multitude of smart features to this price point. While its HDR was considered a little muted, it was still concluded to be good for movies, great for gaming and all this for a very reasonable price.

trusted reviews logo

9 /10

Trusted Reviews also thought the TU8500’s HDR performance was a little lacking and the speakers felt underpowered but it still got a very decent score thanks to its decent gaming performance and smart features. Overall it was considered to be a big step up from an entry level 4K TV, although it can’t quite fully do HDR content justice.

What users say

05 Jan 2021

10 /10

Absolutely amazing TV for the money .
Bought this to replace my 11 year old SamsungTV . So simple to set up , picture quality is as good as the more expensive models & so many great features built in . Can’t recommend this highly enough. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

14 Oct 2020

8 /10

Value choice
At less than half the price of comparable smart tv’s, and a ‘Which’ best buy too, this is great value. Probably not quite as good as the best, but perfectly good enough. I couldn’t set up on my phone but managed to do so on the tv.

07 Oct 2020

10 /10

Samsung TU8500
this is great TV with a good price tag. Picture quality is marvellous but I am not impressed with its audio performance which is rather average.

08 Sep 2020

6 /10

Samsung TV
Not a set to use in a bright room as set seems unable to compensate for such surroundings. Have increased the brightness to the maximum setting but need to close all curtains to get a reasonably good picture. Not a cheap set so disappointing especially as a Samsung.

01 Sep 2020

10 /10

Great Mid Level Smart TV
Great internet connectivity; Netflix, Amazon Prime, BT Sport, Now TV, Iplayer, Apple TV, Rokuten etc. Plus, around 50 free to view internet channels. Picture quality is very good for the price and sound quality from the TV's speakers is surprisingly good. It comes with 2 controllers. A big one, plus a smaller smart controller, which is very intuitive. I'm using it in a bedroom. If I had it in the lounge I'd be tempted to get a Samsung sound bar, to make it more like a cinema experience.

11 Aug 2020

8 /10

well worth it!
I recently purchased the 50 inch samsung tv , and i have got to say that the picture quality is excellent ! it really needs a soundbar as most new tvs do , if they didnt then the tvs would be big bulky things again . the app section is awesome , and has all the popular ones the game mode is awesome too ! ...Nice! the stand has a great idea in that you can hide the cables inside it ??? so no unsightly cables at the back......for anyone to moan about . LoL. overall great tv worth it !

03 Jul 2020

6 /10

Ok mid-range TV
A decent mid-range TV with ok picture quality. You have to turn of all the picture clarity and contrast enhancer settings for this tv to work properly as when they are switched on the TV processors can’t handle fast moving images,try watching Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker and in a lot of scenes the TV processors will break up the image and reassemble right before your eyes which is amusing and alarming at the same time. Motion judder on BBC News also Bad with expert settings turned off.

17 Jun 2020

10 /10

Samsung are my favourite TV
This is a really good quality television. It has 4I picture when available from broadcasters. The ability to edit picture standard includes a variety of settings. The two speakers are quite adequate but a soundbar will always improve the quality. Bluetooth connectivity is flawless. With Samsung's Smarthings app it is possible to control the TV and other items in the home. Mine is wall hanging and looks great. Ambient mode means you can have pictures scrolling, including photos and play music.

05 Jun 2020

4 /10

Worse TV I’ve ever owned
I’ve owned Samsung TV’s for years and always found them to be excellent...until now! I just cannot get the picture colour/tone quite right. There’s lots of judder even with judder reduction at max and the record function is erratic at best. The smart hub is so sluggish you’re not sure if you’ve pressed the button half the time. AVOID!

03 Jun 2020

10 /10

Samsung 50 Inch UE50TU8500 Smart Ultra HD TV
very,very,very good smart tv

8 /10

Beautiful TV
Only down side is that moving through the menus can be slow and lag a little when you first turn the tv on. Everything speeds up a few minutes after the tv has been on though.

8 /10

Great Picture and Sound for Price
Only had this TV for about 10 days but so far so good. First smart TV I have had and took some time to set up but may be that is normal. Differing picture choices and sound very useful. I have found the Natural picture setting with Amplify sound best combination. Gives a slighter brighter picture than Standard and Amplify sound option gives better clarity to speech. Only negative is the screen does attract glare if you have a window facing it as we have. Not a big issue and I have seen some posts suggesting this can be due to a screen protector that can be removed. If it can be removed then there are no instructions or advice on how to do this safely and no obvious way to remove it (if there is actually one on this TV which is difficult to tell!). Overall very pleased for the price paid.

10 /10

Really pleased, voice control is a real bonus.
The 6 year warranty is exceptional. Picture and sound are both excellent. It was important that this model had all of the basic apps: iplayer, ITV, Ch4, Amazon Prime, Youtube, and Netflix. Also needed 3 x HDMI sockets.

10 /10

Great TV
Delivery was pretty efficient. Ordered bank holiday Monday (august 2020) items arrived on Wednesday. Delivery guy was ace!

10 /10

Good clear picture. Best software I have ever seen
My father-in-law after seeing this TV went out and ordered one. It is that good and the price is spot on.

10 /10

Good sharp picture no distortions
Spent 35 minuets on the phone with Samsung to register the warranty only to be told if I bought it from Richer Sounds I didn’t need to. When I asked why the warranty form was included with the instructions he said it was standard practice!

10 /10

Amazing picture
I bought this TV only around a week or two ago, can never go wrong with Samsung TV’s for quality, even without a sound bar, the options for the sound are great, the picture is impeccable for the price in comparison to OLED/QLED, would 100% recommend using Richer Sounds for any TV, last 2 TV’s were from them, this current TV was out of stock and the guys at Richer Sounds were quick to get in contact to let me know it was back in stock for delivery