Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 Review

https://www.thegrade.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Samsung-Galaxy-Tab-A8.png
Product Review
77%
The Grade
Experts Say
66.67%
Consumers Say
88%

What the experts say

pc mag logo

7 /10

Solid performance, battery and a passable display meant there was a lot to recommend Samsung Galaxy Tab S7 - especially for this price. However, if you don't need access to Google's Play Store then it was recommended you check out Amazon's Fire range which could offer more value.

my next tablet logo

7 /10

My Next Tablet thought the major thing going for the Tab A8 was its inexpensive price. On performance, screen quality and sound it does a good enough job (just). It also has good battery life.

stuff logo

6 /10

As long as you are doing straightforward tasks (e.g. watching videos), then Stuff thought the Tab A8 would be adequate (though it can be a bit laggy at times).

What users say

30 Mar 2021

10 /10

Samsung tablet
Good tablet needs more bass but my 18 year old likes it

30 Mar 2021

6 /10

Not happy
Not able to use data from my plan, couldn’t connect t it to my cellular plan had to buy another one.

30 Mar 2021

8 /10

Works great
This is the 3rd tab A I have bought I got this one for the wife. She loves it It's a easy tablet to use that is fast and reliable.

30 Mar 2021

10 /10

Nice Tablet
Much faster than my old Wintec tablet.Seems to be well built and responsive.I added a case from another store for protection.

30 Mar 2021

10 /10

Best tablet ever
Great quality, great price, and runs very smoothly!

30 Mar 2021

2 /10

Freezes a lot
I bought it for my daughter as a Christmas gift and the screen freezes

30 Mar 2021

8 /10

Great for the price just wish it had fast charging
Would of gotten 5 stars but...it does not support fast charging and takes awhile to reach full charge . However, it does hold the charge for a long time . I gave this tablet to my son for Christmas so I charged it up on Christmas day I believe. He has been on it for a few days now and we have not charged it. So overall it's a great tablet I guess and for the price it's great.

30 Mar 2021

6 /10

Disappointed
I didn't like that there is no texting capability like the Apple iPad.

30 Mar 2021

10 /10

awesome
perfect size identical to photo

30 Mar 2021

10 /10

Good device for kids
We are an Apple family but my daughter had enough saved up for this tablet. We have had it a week and it has been great so far. Ordered another one for my son for his birthday

30 Mar 2021

10 /10

Son's Birthday Gift!
Perfect tablet! Beautiful, fast and modern design! Shipping was quick!

30 Mar 2021

10 /10

For my son
I bought this tablet for my toddler. He loves it!!!

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

I love this little tablet!
I bought this for myself to read on. I loved it so much I went back to get another to replace my son’s Amazon Fire. It is such a good tablet. Sturdy and it does everything we need it to.

28 Mar 2021

4 /10

bad charge port
It was a good tablet but I was constantly having to send it in to get the charged port fixed. I was always breaking and wouldn't hold the charger in place. I've had the tablet for less than a year And I've already had to take it in four times to be fixed.

28 Mar 2021

10 /10

money saver
my child's iPad died so I got this for less and it can have all the apps her iPad couldn't camera not the best but she's 4 she's not calling ppl

28 Mar 2021

10 /10

Just what I wanted!
This tablet was a great price and does everything i need it to do! Delivery was also right on time like all of my Target orders. I am more than happy with my purchase!

26 Mar 2021

2 /10

Do not waste your money or time
The OS is extremely convoluted and not user friendly at all. It took over a half hour to set up only to reveal a slow, unresponsive, unpolished tablet with a terrible App Store. Then when I tried to restore the tablet to factory settings I had to call Samsung to get their “permission” and send screenshots of proof of purchase. I was on the phone for over 20 minutes to reset something I purchased. This tablet has caused nothing but disappointment and frustration. I will never buy another Samsung or Android product again.

26 Mar 2021

10 /10

Tablet
Very happy with quality of tablet and how quickly it arrived.

26 Mar 2021

10 /10

Birthday tablet
Wanted to get something that didn’t require cellular service. Works perfectly.

25 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great and afforadable
I bought these for my kids. Apple is too expensive and kids don’t take very good care of electronics so I opted for Samsung which is more affordable. The tablets are great, the kids can play games watch there shows and do pretty much everything they did with there Apple electronics. I definitely approve these.

24 Mar 2021

10 /10

love Samsung
works great for my kids at a price point I can live with.

24 Mar 2021

8 /10

Tablet
We like this tablet better than Amazon’s tablets.

22 Mar 2021

10 /10

Recommend
My girls love them. Battery lasts all day!

22 Mar 2021

10 /10

Samsung
worth the price. enjoy it

09 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great
I love this product couldnt ask for anything so perfect like for me the 8' is the rite size and for speed its fast and efficient.

17 Feb 2021

10 /10

Pros: Really love it, easy and simple to use, good lasting battery and great memory
Cons: the camera is a bit of a let down as the whole product in general is very good sadly its very blurry and not something youd want to use for pictures

17 Feb 2021

10 /10

Pros: Perfect size for reading, and seeing bigger images and web pages than is convenient on a phone. Slim and light, and beautifully made. For me a 10inch was too big, and a phone too small. Instant Google connectivity, full Google Play store access. Excellent screen quality and display and really great battery life. For the price its absolutely unbeatable.
Cons: Screen doesn't have the fastest touch response, need to be patient , but for the price you won't be complaining

08 Feb 2021

10 /10

Pros: Liked the auto tfr of info/contacts etc. by linking to existing smart phone, tablet and laptop.The 8'' screen is a useful size.
Cons: Not found anything yet

29 Jan 2021

10 /10

happy daughter makes a happy mom
We had got this tablet last year and bought it at 160.00 but recently it had broke so we were extremely happy that we found the same tablet which my daughter loved at 99.00 , we had got it on time and were happy about overall experience with best buy

18 Jan 2021

10 /10

Pros: Got this for my elderly mum and its a perfect size and weight. As always, samsung products easy to navigate and she got the hang of it no problem. Screen clarity and sound is excellent.
Cons: None

29 Dec 2020

8 /10

Great product
The tablet overall is great. It has great battery life, great performance, and it has a nice display. The screen is just a little weak.

02 Dec 2020

10 /10

Great for the kids
Got a couple of these for the older kids to use especially as more school work is digital. Very quick device compared to older devices and plenty of space for apps for them to use. Nice that you can add additional SD memory for even more apps and files.

19 Sep 2020

10 /10

Perfect choice
This is my second pair for my second kid, based on my previous experience with this tablet I bought it again.

12 Sep 2020

10 /10

Great Tablet
great device is quiet an upgrade from my previous tablet also samsung.

23 Jul 2020

10 /10

Really happy with my purchase
After researching tablets with similar price range and specs, I decided on the Samsung. Good battery life, fast downloads, good graphics and good for gaming.

29 May 2020

10 /10

I'm satisfy with my tablet
I had another tablet before, which wasn't as good as this tablet, i love it, well pleased with my purchased.

27 Mar 2020

10 /10

Love my Galaxy Tab A
Samsung Galaxy Tab A is the perfect sized tablet for lounging in bed & reading a book, playing games, watching movies, checking email, etc. I love the option of adding a micro SD card to increase storage space. The android OS is perfect & has all of my favorite apps! I would highly recommend the Samsung Galaxy Tab A for anyone looking for a perfectly sized tablet, that’s reasonably priced with all of the great features one would want from a tablet.

15 Jan 2020

1 /10

Pros: Reviewer left no comment
Cons: I was sold this product and the screen didn't even work when my son opened it on xmas day! When taking it back to curries (Chester) on the 28th they didn't have the 8inch in stock or available to order so I then had to pay more money for the 10.1 inch or put up with a broken tablet, I felt conned. Even though they reduced the price slightly for me, they should have accepted responsibility and let me have the 10.1 for free considering the amount of stress and disappointment it coursed for me and my son. That's why I cant rate this product highly.

31 Dec 2019

4 /10

Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 review
For a 2019 tablet, this is disappointing. Bought it after good reviews online and in Which? - but it’s not performing at decent speed of Apple iPhone. It’s sluggish. These tech products seem designed to encourage purchase of the newest products - but in today’s green climate, can’t keep on with the throwaway electronics culture. I’ve had problems with a well reviewed broadband speed checker (could be the programmers of course). Disappointing at present. Maybe Samsung can improve the OS?

25 Oct 2019

8 /10

Quality high end tablet
This model is fast at processing my apps, it has plenty of storage, which is a great asset for me. The screen is bright and clear. It has Android version 9 installed whisk is the best version I've ever used. 4this tablet is highly recommended and a thoroughly good buy.

29 Sep 2019

6 /10

Works fine but...
If you pay attention to colouring, sadly the pictures come up washed up, it's worth searching for another model if your main goal is to use to watch YouTube etc..

18 Sep 2019

10 /10

Really good great speed great quality
Slim look good and good camera quality

17 Sep 2019

10 /10

Samsung tablet
I would recommend this tablet. Has it is nice to hold and easy to use .

06 Sep 2019

6 /10

Little slow
I bought this tablet as my son’s old one was little slow and I end up having 2 slow tablet now

20 Aug 2019

8 /10

Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 32 GB 8 inch silver
This was an excellent purchase for the price and for my 7 year old daughter for games, and you tube etc.