LG OLED55BX6LB Review

https://mk0thegradew8rxpvnhw.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/LG-OLED55BX6LB.png
Product Review
94%
The Grade
Experts Say
93.33%
Consumers Say
95%

What the experts say

9 /10

TechRadar thinks the OLED55BX6LB is a great OLED TV providing bright whites and deep blacks. Picture quality is described as having stunning colour vibrance and contrast, although there was occasional noise in dark scenes. There is support for Dolby Vision, but not HDR10+.

trusted reviews logo

9 /10

Trusted Reviews was very impressed with the cheapest OLED TV in LG’s range. Picture quality is described as top notch and while it is missing Freeview Play it does come with a very good smart platform in the form of webOS. It is also a good choice for gamers with a spec ready for next gen consoles, including two 2.1 HDMI ports that support 4K at 120fps. It is also very well priced for an OLED panel.

t3 logo

10 /10

The OLED55BX6LB is a great choice for gamers looking or an OLED TV according to T3 thanks to its Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X ready ports. Support for 4K at 120fps, cinematic picture quality and a very good smart platform to boot all add up to a very good TV, especially at this price. Audio is average and it can struggle a bit in bright rooms, but you won’t get a better OLED TV cheaper.

What users say

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Easy to set up
So easy to set up. Should have boight it a long time ago.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

great tv
I love this TV so far. it's better than any Samsung I've owned. been a long time Samsung fan and won't for back for TVs. The colors and Blacks are much better. the remote is pretty cool also. Like a Nintendo Wii. I will say it's super thin up top which I'm afraid to Crack the screen when trying to mount it by myself. also the mounting bolts are on the bottom half and my mount does not allow me to adjust on the bottom. it has holes on the top and slots at the bottom. so now I'm going to need to raise the whole mount on the wall

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Best affordable OLED on the market.
The picture looks incredible with the new generation of game consoles. The sound is powerful enough that you don’t absolutely need a sound bar. The build quality is sturdy despite the thinness of the TV. The only dislike is the remote. It gets the job done but it’s just not designed well

31 Mar 2021

8 /10

(no review title)
Overall picture quality is great. Only downfall is the sound is a bit muffled compared to our last TV. We purchased a sound bar and that helped the issue.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
This TV has great picture and sound. It is user friendly and I thought the price was reasonable for all the features of the TV.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

OMG OLED
awesome and worth the extra $$ (beyond normal UHD prices) ....the OLED is unbelievable in terms of definition...just wish the content could keep up with the technology (presently)

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Whatever you've heard, this TV is even better!
Terrific TV .. works every bit as well as I had expected! ... Right out of the box! It was easy to set up and easy to use .. Great picture and sound!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

YEP
this tv is super sick. the picture is mind-blowing. holy cow.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Time to Upgrade!
Picture is AMAZING! Especially compared to my last TV. Got this for a great "deal" as it was $700 off when I purchased. I love the smart remote and it's really just an amazing upgrade! Easy set-up too.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great Picture
Just replaced a 10 year old tv with this one and could not be more happy. Very thin and lightweight. The blacks are SO black, and the color is amazing.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

This is the one
I do not keep up on the newest technology but when I saw this television in the store, it was difficult to walk away. I did walk away and did some research. Target had the best price but I was still anxious about making the purchase. I ordered online and I do not regret the purchase. I love this television! The picture and sound quality are better than expected and I had high expectations. Set up was incredibly easy. I have only had the television since January 20 so I cannot speak to longevity but so far this product does not disappoint. If you are in the market for a new television. Look no further...this is the one to get.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

All Around Excellent
This is shaping up to be the best TV I’ve ever had. Great picture quality, deep blacks and pretty good sound (for down firing speakers). The user interface is snappy and fresh. Munoz only complaint is that it only has four HDMI ports, but so does pretty much everything else. I also like the white cabinet in the back and the super slim profile.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Fantastic TV - The best on the market today
I have been wanting to buy this OLED TV by LG for a while now, and when Target came down to $1,499.99, it was time. And I have to say, the TV has not disappointed. It is amazingly good! The picture is super crisp and the colors are fantastic. I have to say though, just as a warning to those who have their TV in a bright room, with windows facing the TV. The screen is mirror like and you get a lot of reflection. It's not a problem for me, but could be for some. Of course, like any TV, it needs to be fed the right quality signal in order to shine. It's not going to make a crappy signal look good.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great TV
Beautiful TV with deep blacks and vibrant colors. The OLED hype is real, and Target had a great price for this item.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

4K = WOW
After set up the first show I watched was a 1955 episode of "The Life and Times of Wyatt Earp". I was so blown away with the crisp and clear picture. It is totally amazing. The characters seem nearly 3 D, backgrounds show the proper depth while remaining clear. Written graphics are also sharp and crisp. And like I said that was 1955 black and white show. Anything from a streaming source is amazing to watch. Even local channels look better than ever. I prefer a sound bar with mine for added depth, but that is just my preference.

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Amazing viewing experience right out of the box!!
I've had this OLED for about a month now and so far I'm very impressed. The picture clarity is amazing, great colors and brightness, and the contrast is mind blowing. Having the individual pixels turn off to give infinite contrast has changed my appreciation for TV/movie viewing forever. I have yet to watch sports or play console games, which will really test the refresh rate, but I am already extremely satisfied with the TV. The internal speakers are great (AI is my favorite option so far), plenty of audio/video settings to play around with, great magic remote (better than the early generation that I have with a 47" 3D LG TV), and super easy setup. I'll be mounting this and adding a soundbar/subwoofer in a month or so to upgrade the viewing experience even further. 5/5!!!

13 Mar 2021

10 /10

Love My New OLED 55’
Love my new OLED 55’ TV. My two favorite Geek Squad Specialists Aaron and Theron assist in getting this TV delivered, installed and mounted. I even have the arm which resided conspicuously behind the Tv and it can extend out and can be moved from left and right. Love the display is night and day the picture quality is in matached.

16 Feb 2021

10 /10

Impressive
Great Black Great Sound all around a fine tv background very noticeable difference from my LG Nano cell TV very happy with the upgrade

19 Jan 2021

10 /10

4k tv to show off my ps5
Did some research on all the 4k tvs argos sell because I had recently bought a ps5. The LG TV I purchased was the best overall for gaming. VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE TV EASY TO SET UP AND THE PS5 LOOKS ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE VERY PLEASED I THOUGHT ARGOS SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AND QUICK DELIVERY WOULD RECOMMEND ARGOS TO EVERY ONE

14 Jan 2021

9 /10

Pros: (been using the BX 55 for over a month now)1. Mesmerising image quality- filmmaker mode is a superb experience (one of its own kind). Also, the Dolby Vision Cinema mode for Dolby Vision movies is an exceptional cinema experience. The colour contrasts are quite satisfying due to absolute OLED black.2. The sleek design of BX 55 (same as CX55) is eye pleasing. Perhaps the best looking TV (along with other LG OLEDs) across the range on the market in 2020.3. A great device to plug in new generation games consoles such as Xbox X/S or PS5. Easy to set up 4k gaming at 60/120hz. Comes with HDMI 2.1 port. Also, easy to connect as air-play display with Macbooks with just a click.4. Magic wand remote tech is quite unique and comes in handy on various occasions. I mix use key toggle and magic wand cursor. It is good to have both ways to interact.5. Built-in speakers are good enough and with premium sound quality while watching movies. Sometimes the sound can be slightly low to your liking when at optimum levels but that variation is generally the case.
Cons: 1. It would help to automatically switch between 'Film maker mode' and 'standard' mode for watching non-dolby movies and standard content (since it automatically identifies HDR and Dolby Vision content).2. Remote controller could be more premium quality for a premium range TV of this price. (this is a downside across all the brands though e.g., Samsung, SONY etc.)

08 Jan 2021

10 /10

Lower price OLED without losing image quality
Gorgeous TV. I honesltly debated between this and CX but ultimately the price made me go with the BX Series. Picture quality is amazing and best of all it has 4K @ 120hz for gaming with the PS5 or Xbox Series X. Next gen looks amazing on this which is the main reason I went with OLED. The only downside I see if that it only has 2 HDMI 2.1 ports which are on the back of the TV instead of the side but I wall mounted my TV and have had no issues so unless you want it to be flush on the wall then this setup will not work and you will have to go with the CX. For the price difference, I took this one and didn't lose noticeable picture quality compared to the CX or even GX. Overall, best TV purchase I have done ever.

08 Jan 2021

10 /10

Great for series x
Bought this Tv for the hdmi 2 capabilities and it runs games at 120 FPS with no input lag

26 Dec 2020

10 /10

Pros: If you are expecting a big screen, immersive experience, you won't be disappointed. Dynamic range is amazing. Black really is black. 4K content is breathtaking. If you watch a lot of films, you'll love this TV. If you watch mostly standard definition daytime TV, it's not worth the premium price of OLED. There are plenty of cheaper TVs that will give a superb picture.The surprise was how good the sound is. I was expecting the normal flat panel tinny sound. It has plenty of bottom end and power and it sounds great.If you've been put off OLED by stories of image burn, don't be. It isn't an issue. It will never happen in normal use and anyway there is a screensaver that kicks in.If you've heard OLED screens lack brightness, this too is not an issue. This TV compares very well with my LCD screen. I would never have said there was any brightness difference.All in all this has delivered on the OLED promise and it's a joy to watch.
Cons: There really isn't anything I dislike about this TV. It's everything I wanted and I'm very pleased. I'd make some observations that might help you if you're still deciding.OLED is fantastic but other screen types are very good indeed and cost a lot less. You have to be sure that paying the extra is worth it for your purposes.The screen is very thin indeed but the lower part of the TV, where all the technology lives, is thicker. If you put it on a wall bracket, the screen won't go as close to the wall as a picture, but it will go pretty close.There are plenty of features and functionality. You need to set aside a little time to learn them. I'm still working through the user guide.

06 Dec 2020

10 /10

Pros: Everything
Cons: Very reflective

02 Dec 2020

10 /10

My tv
Great service and a great product at a great price

02 Dec 2020

10 /10

Love, love, love this TV
The colours, clarity of picture and sound are brilliant. I absolutely love this TV it’s very sleek and looks so good on the wall.

26 Nov 2020

10 /10

A religious experience.
About a day in and I’m absolutely loving the BX. I’ve been drooling playing the 4K demos on YouTube, the picture quality is a religious experience. My Xbox one x is much clearer and richer vs my 2018 4K tv. Watching football as I type and the picture off broadcast looks crisp and motion is flawless. I was worried about brightness as the BX seems to be set up dimmer vs the CX instore, but getting it home there is no issue. In fact I have oled brightness setting halfway and if I turn it up higher it just gets too bright and blown out. Small knock is there is some light banding in some gradients especially if it’s gray and it’s fast moving like an expanding logo, but really 99.9% of images have no issue whatsoever. I almost went with the CX but I’m glad I saved the cash as it turns out the brightness difference is no issue at all. You will love this tv.

25 Nov 2020

10 /10

Brilliant gaming TV
This is an excellent gaming TV for the price. It has 4 HDMI ports, of which two are HDMI 2.1 that support 4K at 120 Hz. Being an OLED TV the blacks are excellent with great contrast. The input lag in game mode is also excellent for playing online. I purchased this to use with my Xbox series X and have not been disappointed. It supports most popular TV apps, with the exception of ITV Player and they are very quick to load and use.

24 Nov 2020

10 /10

Excellent tv
Excellent tv works very well with the Xbox series x, ticks all the boxes

16 Nov 2020

8 /10

Pros: Excellent picture quality that will undoubtably be a change from older model TVs that are not OLEDGreat sound quality as wellFully equipped for next gen gaming. These functionalities remain to be testedSlick design and a paper thin screenDecent remote and general controlVoice commands possible to open apps etc.
Cons: Possibly brightness which is slightly better on the CX. Difference only apparent in a side by side comparison thoughNeed to test the gaming features with the new consoles to see if any weaknesses in this area

11 Nov 2020

6 /10

Pros: Missing the standard apps like channel 4, itv hub still not compatible
Cons: Reviewer left no comment

22 Oct 2020

10 /10

Stunning OLED
Lovely picture and high quality feeling from this product. 4 x HDMI ports but because Apple TV, Amazon, Netflix and more apps are all built in so they might not be needed. This really reduces the clutter of cables in/out of the back of the TV. Yes I could have bought a cheaper TV but the Lovely deep blacks and contrast on the picture, super thin screen and the LG magic remote are all reasons I’m very happy with my purchase.

21 Oct 2020

10 /10

Brilliant LG TV
The LG TV is all I had hoped, sound and picture are brilliant. Very easy to set up, connect to WiFi and so user friendly throughout. Great buy and one I would very much recommend.

21 Oct 2020

10 /10

Cinema at home!.
We’ve wanted an OLED for a while and we’re keeping an eye on a competitors pricing. We decided to go with Argos because I’ve heard bad things about certain support services. Couldn’t be happier. The design is slick and hangs beautifully on the wall. The picture is amazing as expected - Bear Grills race across the world is highly recommended on this TV. The sound - shot me straight into the cinema. The quality is Amazing. Everyone has made the same comments ‘ohhhh I’m in the cinema’.

14 Oct 2020

10 /10

The TV looks amazing
It can handle the darkest scenes with ease ✨ the best tv I have owned

13 Oct 2020

10 /10

Excellent
Bought this TV as our son recommended it. We are both in our Seventies and our sight is not good.So glad we bought the TV the size the picture and sound are excellent,the picture is so clear it's as if our sight has improved but we know it hasn't. Easy to install and set up.Highly recommended.

19 Aug 2020

10 /10

incredible oled big screen
very happy with this tv. big upgrade from an older 43” sony 1080. completes a year-long home theater upgrade. don’t love the smart tv aspects, but using a firetv box instead for smoother streaming needs.

31 Jul 2020

10 /10

Excellent OLED TV
I had spent a few weeks debating between a Samsung QLED or an OLED TV. I eventually decided on the LG BX55 due to the response time and overall better picture quality. I primarily use this TV for gaming and watching movies and after a week of use I can say I’m beyond impressed. The response time is better than my LG gaming monitor and I find myself in awe looking at games like Ghosts of Tsushima and The Last Of Us II. This is my first OLED and it has impressed me, and I am now considering purchasing a second to replace the UHD Samsung in my bedroom. My only complaint with the TV is the complexity of the UI takes some time to get used to. After a week I’ve finally got it all figured out, but out of the box it definitely was much more complex than any TV I have previously owned.

6 /10

Great picture, great sound BUT. . . . . . . . .
We have had the tv a week and I can honestly say it has been the most frustrating week of my life. I am still trying to work out how to get the Humax box to work with the tv. My wife said not to bother because we could use other features such as iPlayer and ITV hub etc. She went on the Internet to see how to install ITV hub and discovered that on this tv it is not possible. Had we known this (or even thought to ask whether services currently available on a 3 year old LG Smart tv would be available on a brand new LG Smart tv) we would have gone for a different make. I am led to believe that the Samsung tvs include such services as standard. So, at the moment, not totally happy bunnies I'm afraid.

10 /10

Great Oled for the price!
Mr Mortimer.

10 /10

Beautiful picture, fantastic sound
Service from Dean at Richer Sounds Leeds was second to none.

10 /10

LG-OLED55BX6LB TV
Its a Which? Best Buy and now I can see why. Fantastic picture and great sound with so many features, some of which I've yet to discover. Well we've only had the TV for 1 week!!! Highly recommended.

10 /10

Excellent product, excellent service.
I bought an LG-OLED55BX6LB - it is huge, fast and beautiful. The colour rendition is superb. I wish I'd bought one sooner!

10 /10

Simply Stunning
Spent several weeks deciding on which tv to buy. This was replacing a 32 LG 10 year old set previously purchased from Richer Sounds.After speaking to the sales person I went for this TV. Wow the picture is stunning. HD and UHD is fantastic on this OLED TV. Sound is very good do much so I do not require a sound bar.Sky integrsted seamlessly. Netflix button fantastic. Absolute love this TV.

10 /10

Such a difference
Had this for a day now and couldn’t be happier. This is a big step up from my 9 year old 42 inch HD LG, and chose this based on the reviews and a quality brand. Picture clarity is superb, sound is also good so at the moment I’m delighted

6 /10

Excellent picture, poor Freeview & Smart features
If you can look past these issues e.g. are just using it for a games console or Sky box, then I would recommend the TV. If you are relying on built in apps or Freeview then look elsewhere.