LG 55UN73006LA Review

https://mk0thegradew8rxpvnhw.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/LG-55UN73006LA.png
Product Review
86%
The Grade
Experts Say
78%
Consumers Say
94%

What the experts say

rtings logo

7 /10

Rtings could only go so far as to call the LG 50Un73006LA "okay". Its screen can't reach a high contrast ratio meaning and its black uniformity (the ability of the screen to display a deep black across the whole screen) is middling. Its viewing angles are also middle of the road and it doesn't get bright enough to combat glare in all situations. Its colour gamut is not that wide and it struggled to produce HDR noticeably (a technique used to provide contrast between the whitest whites and blackest blacks on the screen). It does, however, have a decent input lag so it is an OK option for gamers. Overall the 50Un73006LA represents a budget 4K option.

9 /10

Personal Reviews reckoned the LG 55Un73006La was a good TV set. It 4K picture with HDR tech was rated as very good - though the lack of local dimming (where parts of the screen can be lit differently) was disappointing. The inclusion of Google Assitant and Alexa were also praised. The sound was clear and low input lag was a boon for gamers. The best thing of all though was the price.

What users say

10 Feb 2021

8 /10

Good value TV
Excellent TV for the price. Only downside being lack of catch up apps. Has BBC iplayer but no ITV hub / All4 / CH 5. Would not have purchased TV if I had known, as this was for someone in family who uses catch up services regularly. Cannot believe a TV aimed at UK market does not have these as standard. All in all happy with product. Lesson learned, check before you buy.

27 Jan 2021

10 /10

Amazing tv
Such a great tv and even better price! Got a new tv for my room as a treat during lockdown and as a nurse working through this time I wanted my room to be a place of relaxation, which is far and few between!

21 Jan 2021

8 /10

Missing Essential Apps
The TV it's self is great. It was easy to set up and it's Alexa compatible and includes a magic remote is included. Oh, and it's Alexa compatible - Happy Days! The major downside of the LG 2020 Smart TV's is that they DO NOT have Freeview Play, which means you cannot get ALL4, ITV HUB or MY5 apps - which I wasn't aware of when I purchased this TV.

12 Dec 2020

10 /10

Pros: Easy to set upLooks greatSuper picture qualityFantastic user optionsDirect access Netflix and PrimeGreat app selectionWe have two, I was so impressed with the first onRemote is fab, so easy to use.
Cons: People complain about the sound quality. When you get it the TV is set at sound default. Which to be honest is low. However, just change the default to Cinema and after that the sound quality for everything is fantastic.

30 Oct 2020

2 /10

Not what I expected
Lovely looking tv with lots of features however, be aware this tv does not have itv hub, 4 on demand or channel 5 players. You can only get bbc iplayer, netflix etc. This was one of the only reasons I wanted the tv and they cannot be downloaded. A google search shows the 2020 LG tvs do not have these three on demand apps as LG have not renewed the licence. So for that reason, I returned the tv. This return was facilitated by argos staff with no problems, so thanks to them.

15 Oct 2020

8 /10

Pros: Easy set-up, great picture, good sound but even better with a sound bar.Not had the chance to sit down and learn all the different bits and bobs but hopefully I'll more impressed when I do. Oh, and the RF remote is excellent.
Cons: The user instructions are poor for the extended features and requires some searching on the LG website to find the correct manual - why don't they employ a native speaker to write them....we don't all have a degree in IT.

02 Oct 2020

10 /10

How can I say this?
wow i am impressive LG TV pictures clear and color nice . i bought 3 of these LG TV at BEST BUY . I'm a fan of SONY but after try this tv may be i will change my mine to use LG TV in the future take a look the pictures from LG TV , how is clear n colors

14 Sep 2020

8 /10

Pros: Sharp picture
Cons: The sound quality is really bad!!!

30 Aug 2020

10 /10

An absolute steal of a deal
Just purchased this tv and have tested it with multiple videos and have set it up fully. I must say, for under $500 this is an absolute value. The colors are rich, blacks are almost oled like. The sound from the speakers are actually pretty great which is a surprise, considering most TV speakers could definitely be upgraded. What amazed me is how much is in this TV. Has a smart remote which does voice and motion control, which makes everything so convenient! It activated motion control when you use the control wheel in the middle and use it to type letters or slide the settings up and down quick. And another thing is the LG ThinQ app, all of that tech can also be in your phone as well. Control the volume, source, voice, motion control, and cannot forget if you use Google assistant, you can set it up to look up basically anything. Check the weather, if our going to your favorite place can check the hours and what not. For under $500, it's an absolute steal. I'd price this up there in the $650-700 range if I was personally selling it.

25 Aug 2020

7 /10

Pros: Really good tv great picture and soubd
Cons: Didn’t have certain apps although it’s a smart tv.. like BBC iPlayer, itv hub etc. You are not told this when buying the tv

19 Aug 2020

8 /10

Pros: Smart tv is easy to use.
Cons: The image settings are naturally quite dark

12 Aug 2020

10 /10

Good sound system,picture and user friendly
GOOD FEATURES of smart TV but BBC iplayer is not available which seems to be a drawback. But it has excellent picture quality.Overall very happy with the product.So far functioning well, user friendly with inbuilt alexa

06 Aug 2020

2 /10

Does not support BBC iplayer etc.
Having purchased the LG smart TV, I assumed (wrongly!) the 2020 models would support BBC iplayer, ITV hub etc. These apps are unavailable on 2020 models. If I'd know this, I would of bought a different brand.

01 Aug 2020

8 /10

Weird menu navigation
I won't be watching an television or movies on it. Bought this TV for my home gym to screen strem online workouts and to screen cast from my Peloton. First off, the legs on this television are NOT STABLE. Safest thing would be to mount on a wall. If you're going to mount, do not by the Rocketfish 40-70" full swivel TV mount. The rear crossbar will cover up the tv power outlet and can't use it. I had to cut the bar (see pictures) to allow plug in. The remote is unique, but it needs just one button to facilitate all the apps the TV has. I have to go through a few steps to access the disney+ app, for example. Good picture quality for what I need, but I would probably be disappointed if I were bought this for actual Netflix/Hulu/Disney+ viewing.

30 Jul 2020

4 /10

no uk catchup apps
Tv is great but does not have BBC I player, ITV Hub, 4 more or freeview play. It won't even allow iplayer to be selected from the BBC site on the Web app. Loads of other apps inc youtube, fireplace and aquarium but very little that is useful.

29 Jul 2020

10 /10

Yes it’s what I wanted
Don’t go to currys I tried currys the same day and a load of rubbish walked out so bored with the salesman, got home looked at Argos brought it and got it the same day, good service well pleased

28 Jul 2020

10 /10

Lovely picture
Really nice tv, perfect size for the bedroom. Great picture quality shame you don’t get a user manual, just have to press buttons until you get the right one. The curser is a bit of nuisance rather than help, can’t seem to get rid of it yet, other than that really pleased.

28 Jul 2020

10 /10

LG 55" is absolutely superb
The quality is outstanding, the picture is so crisp. Easy to set up and use. Fit on our existing bracket perfectly. Absolutely recommended this TV to anyone.

24 Jul 2020

10 /10

Great Price Great TV
this is a really nice TV for the price, what s nice picture and very easy to use

13 Jul 2020

10 /10

Love Everything About the TV
This TV has all you need to cut the cord with a Great picture and cool remote.

10 Jul 2020

10 /10

Great tv
The Picture quality is great my grandma loved it !!

04 Jul 2020

8 /10

Ok TV, Great TV for the price.
I was looking to replace my Vizio 50in 120hz tv. The reason was I needed 60hz to play 4k games on xbox and decided on this tv for the price. Great bargain for the price, however the display isnt very vivid unless you crank the brightness which can washout the picture. 4k gaming on xbox one is really great! I would recommend this TV!!

12 Jun 2020

10 /10

Great TV.
Easy to set up and has a great picture. And a very good price.

10 /10

Easy to navigate, great sound.
I purchased this TV for my son’s bedroom. Very impressed with both the picture and sound. Especially with LG’s AI sound feature.Netflix,Amazon Movies and the PlayStation are stunning in Ultra HD.Would highly recommend this TV.Once again very happy with Richer Sounds especially the extended 6 year warranty.Delivered on time and in pristine condition.

8 /10

Looks Great and ideal size.
I purchased this TV in January my third LG TV. Very pleased with the picture quality ,ease of use, sound etc.My biggest disappointment is there is no ITV Hub added. Speaking to a LG engineer this is down to LG & ITV hub not making an agreement for this modelCome on LG we are supposed to be going forward not back.

10 /10

Perfect picture and sound
Only had this a few weeks and what a difference to my old tv. 55 inch looks great and the quality is great. Really pleased with it and was easy to set up

10 /10

Great picture
This is a very good quality smart tv. Picture quality and apund quality is awsome.

10 /10

Great picture quality, excellent apps & os
Exceeded our expectations in terms of picture quality, audio quality and the quality of the operating system. Comes with pretty much all the apps you could need. Very happy!

10 /10

I would not buy any other make TV than LG.
I am glad I bought LG TV from Richer Sound excellent picture and superb sound.I am very pleased with the service thanks very much.

10 /10

Great features
We bought this a few weeks ago.Great tv with all the features we needAmazing price with the 6 year no quibble warrantyWe've always purchased from richer soundsThe guys at the Newcastle store are always top notchCheers fellas

10 /10

Picture and sound quality is excellent
I bought this TV as it was recommended to me by Richard Sounds,the Picture and sound quality are excellent,it has lots of new and up to date features which I am still getting use to!