LG 43UN73006LC Review

https://www.thegrade.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/LG-43UN73006LC.png
Product Review
80%
The Grade
Experts Say
68%
Consumers Say
92%

What the experts say

rtings logo

7 /10

The UN7300 gets a mixed score from Rtings, performing well for TV watching and games, but lacking when it comes to watching movies in HDR in particular, but also for movie watching in general. It is particularly good at preventing troublesome reflections but it suffers from a low contrast ratio and HDR brightness is a little low.

What users say

28 Mar 2021

9 /10

Pros: sleep timer
Cons: option to turn the scary - recommendations- voice off

27 Mar 2021

9 /10

Pros: Top quality picture
Cons: Kept losing stations and had to keep retuning - until I found online information on how to make changes in Settings so it wouldn’t do this

06 Mar 2021

2 /10

Great features. Great Price. Poor Quality.
This is my first LG from a SONY and I honestly wish I never made the switch. I've had this TV for a little over half a year now and after some time of using it, I can say without question I wish I had never purchased this TV. It's nice for your average user however if you like great picture at a great price, I would increase your budget like I wish I had. LG's webOS is super easy to use and honestly the Magic Remote that comes with this unit is a game changer. It's like using a Nintendo Wiimote on your TV and it makes navigating through the settings and apps a breeze. I recently hooked up a Roku to this TV and right away it recognized it and the Magic Remote works on the Roku which is awesome. I love how has component and composite inputs which was the main reason I purchased this TV as most manufacturers have moved to HDMI only these days. In a bright/well lit room this television looks great and the colors really pop however that's really where the good news ends. First off, the build quality feels incredibly cheap. The feet stands are just plastic and are held on by a single Philips screw. The casing is also incredibly hallow and I noticed along edges and closings pieces of plastic that were not broken off during assembly. As a gamer, I bought this for playing games and watching movies. This unit does have a game mode with really low latency which is great, however switching to "Game" mode for your PC and gaming consoles washes away the vivid colors and brightness. The picture becomes muddy, washed out and very faded for games if you leave it at it's default settings. I had to do alot of changes to the picture settings to get it just right and I've heard others have had to do the same. Watching movies is also really inconsistent. Again if you watch a bright scene or full screen movie, it looks great. But get a movie with black bards, a dark scene (as pictured) or even a black fade out and the light bleed is so bad that it's distracting and frustrating. From my tests the lighting on this TV is really uneven and the edges have really bright light bleed which I have been unable to remove in the settings. The sound is also incredibly weak on this unit. Anyone buying this TV, I would highly recommend getting a soundbar. Those who decide to stick with an LG soundbar will be happy to know if you get any of LG's soundbars, it will automatically sync up with the TV remote once connect so you don't have multiple remotes just to adjust the volume. Overall the features and connectivity of this TV are great and for the price, you cannot beat it, however its washed out "Game Mode" picture, poor and uneven lighting/build quality and lack of decent sound really makes it hard to recommend this or any of LG's mid to lower tier lineups.

23 Feb 2021

10 /10

Pros: Amazing TV well worth what I paid. I Iove that everything you need is on the remote control. It’s amazing
Cons: The only downside to the modal is the position of the TV legs. They are at either end if the TV, I would have prefer to have one base at the centre of the TV.

10 Feb 2021

8 /10

Good value TV
Excellent TV for the price. Only downside being lack of catch up apps. Has BBC iplayer but no ITV hub / All4 / CH 5. Would not have purchased TV if I had known, as this was for someone in family who uses catch up services regularly. Cannot believe a TV aimed at UK market does not have these as standard. All in all happy with product. Lesson learned, check before you buy.

27 Jan 2021

10 /10

Amazing tv
Such a great tv and even better price! Got a new tv for my room as a treat during lockdown and as a nurse working through this time I wanted my room to be a place of relaxation, which is far and few between!

23 Jan 2021

1 /10

Pros: Nice good quality tv although the legs make it a bit cheap
Cons: It doesn’t support itv hub or all4 like previous models and they don’t inform you of this before selling it to you. This is very annoying and I would not recommend this tv at all as it feels like it’s not fit for purpose.

21 Jan 2021

8 /10

Missing Essential Apps
The TV it's self is great. It was easy to set up and it's Alexa compatible and includes a magic remote is included. Oh, and it's Alexa compatible - Happy Days! The major downside of the LG 2020 Smart TV's is that they DO NOT have Freeview Play, which means you cannot get ALL4, ITV HUB or MY5 apps - which I wasn't aware of when I purchased this TV.

01 Jan 2021

8 /10

Great for a 4K monitor and actual useable speakers
Works great, and looks great. I picked this up to use as a monitor for my laptop while I'm at my desk. It's about the same price as a budget 4K monitor, but much larger. It doesn't have any Freesync or Gsync tech but the only gaming I'd intend to do on this would be from a console where that matters much less. With 4k displays for PC for productivity at this price range you have to make a decision of do you want a smaller display that you're going to lose some desktop real estate due to scaling or are you going to get a 40+" display where you can turn off scaling, get all the space for your windows you're working with and have to turn your head a little to see the far edges of the screen. While great for working on this is also great for 4K media when you want to take a break. Even though the max brightness on this TV is in what some critics would say is the HD AREN'T zone HDR content does look pretty good on this set. The smart TV features are quite nice, but not quite as good as having a dedicated streamer if you have streaming preferences that lean outside of the most major of services or are an Anime fan since the only Anime centered streaming service supported at the time of writing this is Funimation. HBO Max is also not present on this so plan on using a computer or other streaming box if you want to watch Wonder Woman 84 or Game of Thrones. The Speakers actually surprised me the most since I'm used to TV speakers being hot garbage at best even at the high end. This will still benefit from better speakers from a sound bar or Surround sound system if you're making this your main TV for movies, but the speakers on this sound good enough that it's not an immediate necessity.

12 Nov 2020

10 /10

A very decent 4K TV at a great price!
I’m using this in my bedroom. After fine tuning the display to my liking, I’m really happy with the TV and think it represents a great value. The internal speakers aren’t bad, but I have it hooked up to a 3.1 LG Soundbar via HDMI. I also tried a 50” VIZIO model, which ended up being too big for my bedroom, and the LG picture quality was superior. LG seems to want you to use their picture presets, and some of them look pretty good out of the gate, but in addition to the standard picture controls, there are additional Advanced Controls & Picture Options that can be adjusted. I “screen mirrored” my iPad via AirPlay and used it as a calibration guide. It really helped me to remove blown out highlights and get the color more accurate. Airplay is nice to have and I often use it to watch movies and YouTube videos. LG also offers a pretty decent built in TV streaming service and apps like Pluto with hundreds of channels, if you don’t have cable or satellite.

30 Oct 2020

2 /10

Not what I expected
Lovely looking tv with lots of features however, be aware this tv does not have itv hub, 4 on demand or channel 5 players. You can only get bbc iplayer, netflix etc. This was one of the only reasons I wanted the tv and they cannot be downloaded. A google search shows the 2020 LG tvs do not have these three on demand apps as LG have not renewed the licence. So for that reason, I returned the tv. This return was facilitated by argos staff with no problems, so thanks to them.

12 Aug 2020

10 /10

Good sound system,picture and user friendly
GOOD FEATURES of smart TV but BBC iplayer is not available which seems to be a drawback. But it has excellent picture quality.Overall very happy with the product.So far functioning well, user friendly with inbuilt alexa

06 Aug 2020

2 /10

Does not support BBC iplayer etc.
Having purchased the LG smart TV, I assumed (wrongly!) the 2020 models would support BBC iplayer, ITV hub etc. These apps are unavailable on 2020 models. If I'd know this, I would of bought a different brand.

03 Aug 2020

1 /10

Pros: Good picture and sound
Cons: No iplayer apps for BBC, ITV or Channel 4. Didn’t state this in description. Apparently LG say no 2020 tv of theirs includes this, so if important to you, stay clear of LG tvs. Very disappointed in purchase.

30 Jul 2020

4 /10

no uk catchup apps
Tv is great but does not have BBC I player, ITV Hub, 4 more or freeview play. It won't even allow iplayer to be selected from the BBC site on the Web app. Loads of other apps inc youtube, fireplace and aquarium but very little that is useful.

29 Jul 2020

10 /10

Yes it’s what I wanted
Don’t go to currys I tried currys the same day and a load of rubbish walked out so bored with the salesman, got home looked at Argos brought it and got it the same day, good service well pleased

28 Jul 2020

10 /10

LG 55" is absolutely superb
The quality is outstanding, the picture is so crisp. Easy to set up and use. Fit on our existing bracket perfectly. Absolutely recommended this TV to anyone.

28 Jul 2020

10 /10

Lovely picture
Really nice tv, perfect size for the bedroom. Great picture quality shame you don’t get a user manual, just have to press buttons until you get the right one. The curser is a bit of nuisance rather than help, can’t seem to get rid of it yet, other than that really pleased.

26 May 2020

8 /10

Overall Good Purchase
Purchased during COVID-19, Would have been nice to see this TV in the store along with other brands. I’ve owned an LG before and liked it. This is my first smart TV so it took a little adjusting to get used to operating it. Several days ago I was watching it and the TV turned off automatically. I thought oh no! Come to find out it has a power mode, if there is no activity from the watcher it will shut off after two hours. Had to go into the settings and turn this option off. The color is pretty good, but I do have to adjust it for different programs, that’s something I never had to do before. I mostly use vivid and sporting mode to get the sharpest and intense colors. I do like the remote, but wish that it would light up at night so you can see the keypad. Also this remote does not have the option of favorite channel. The magic feature is really great just point and press the dial at the TV screen. The sound is much better on this TV than my Insigna TV. I also like the feature of Alexa and Google assistant. Overall I would say that I am happy with my purchase and I got this TV on sale. If you’re looking for Apple fourth generation you need to upgrade to a nano this only has third-generation AppleTV not 4th. You can only use it for streaming you cannot access your Apple account or iCloud.

10 May 2020

10 /10

Exceptional 4K PC Monitor
First, if you would like to use this as a PC monitor, go to rtings.com and see a review/guide to set this up for that purpose. As of 5/10/2020 this model is not there but it's mostly identical to 43UM7300xxx. The most important thing for you to set is to change your HDMI input's ICON as PC and name it as a PC - then it starts working 1:1 pixel matching mode. Also don't forget to set 'HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color' and 'Game Mode' to enable RGB 4:4:4 and lowest latency. Can't be happier with this for an awesome 4k PC monitor. I have tried TCL 43s405 (VA panel) which is also pretty good but this is better in terms of latency (this feels really like a monitor level latency) and view angle. One small thing is that I am working very close - within 2.5ft or so from the screen, the backlight is not right behind the LCD pixels so it looks a bit flotty around the edges which does not bother me too much. I also have tried Samsung's 55 curved for PC monitor and it was hard for me to set it up perfectly like this one. Considering the price and size, I am more than satisfied with this

03 May 2020

8 /10

My First LG TV And I'm Very Impressed
So I'm no expert in contrast ratio, gray uniformity or any other technical stuff most of the review sites use. And I'm not a gamer. But to me this is a really great TV. The picture quality is very good. Especially in 4k. Setup was pretty simple. Most of the settings out of the box were set perfectly so all most people will need to do is just plug it in. The initial onscreen setup was flawless. You'll be up and running in minutes. My favorite feature on the TV is the Filmmaker mode (comes preset). I really can't explain it but it makes scenes in movies look like directors cuts. It's very up-close and vivid. It's really cool. You'll watch a movie you've already seen and be blown away by the differences. The Ultra Surround setting (you need to enable it) adds depth to the audio. I think the sound quality on the TV is excellent. The picture mode is set to APS. I scrolled through all of the picture mode settings and found the default setting to be the best. I know you can fine tune it, but to me the picture quality is great. Again, I'm no expert on this stuff. To me it looks fine. But there are options if you're interested. I really haven't used the remote much. I have Fios and their remote has voice control so I just use that. I also have an Apple TV connect so I use that for apps like Netflix and Prime Video. But I did use the remote for setup and it works very good. I can see why people rave about it. The one thing I'm really looking forward to is the sports alerts. You'll need to set these up yourself, but you can have the TV add your favorite teams from the four major sports leagues and it will alert you on screen when games are on and the with score updates. I'm really looking forward to seeing this feature (eventually, when sports returns). The only negative is connecting the TV to Google Home. I may be doing something wrong but it doesn't seem to work. It's recognized in the Google Home app, but it does not connect. The LG app does work with the TV though so you can control the power, volume and channels. I'm purchasing an Echo Dot to see if that will connect better with the TV. Fios integrates with Alexa anyway so I think it will work better either way. And the TV has an Alexa app built in by default. So I should have better luck with that. Overall this is a great TV. It's my first LG and I'm very impressed. The ease of use, multiple settings to choose from and overall quality for an entry level price is impressive. I'm now an LG fan for life.

25 Mar 2020

10 /10

Great quality for Price
This gets five stars, as it currently stands. I'll see how long it lasts. I game on here. Input lag varies from 10-13 milliseconds. Sometimes, when using an HDMI splitter, however, there is NO INPUT LAG. From what I've tested with my "creep-mode" camera, the pixels are PURE RGB, not RGBW. This is probably why the image is so stunning. The TV is also VERY bright. I currently own the UH6300 (2016), UJ6300 (2017), UK6300 (2018) and this model (2020). Out of all of these models, I'm most impressed with the 2020 model, the UN7300. Out of the aforementioned TV's, the UH6300 has the best picture quality, but it was priced higher when initially released and has no IPS panel. This tv offers virtually the same picture quality and brightness, with an IPS panel, for only $329. I play ranked Apex Legends (Diamond 3) and Gears of War 5 on the Xbox One X. The refresh rate is still 60hz, but motion feels smoother than previous generations, much easier to track targets. On the PS4 Pro, I play Monster Hunter World and the Witcher 3. Coming from mainly using the UJ6300, I can admit I was initially blown away with how much better games look on this TV, incredible. ALLM is a thing on this TV, too (assuming "Instant Game Response" is ALLM). It works on the Xbox one, but I haven't gotten any reaction from the PS4 Pro. In general, I think ALLM needs more time to develop. I say this because I had trouble initially getting the TV to recognize the Xbox's ALLM setting--seems to be working fine now, though. If you're gaming with either single-player or multiplayer titles, turn noise reduction and MPEG noise reduction off; it dramatically increases latency. I would indefinitely leave those two settings off. Smooth gradation is another setting; sometimes I like it for single-player experiences. The gradation effect makes things look more cinematic to me, at the cost of lost detail in shadows and increased input lag. Still, I think it's great for regular 4K content and games where input lag doesn't really matter as much (e.g. Witcher 3 and Monster Hunter World). Just as someone else mentioned, this is wonderful as a monitor. I edit videos a lot and need consistent and accurate colors between my laptop (HP Omen), Wacom tablet and TV. With that being said, I can get colors on this display perfectly matched with what I see on my other screens. The pure RGB color space of this TV really does help with overall image quality. The sound is great, similar to previous models. So far, it's so good.

23 Mar 2020

10 /10

New WFH monitor
PURE computer monitor. I have two 28 4k S brand monitors that I've been using for 2+yrs and I've been looking to upgrade my main display(s). I code and do general image and video work. No gaming on these two machines (I have a different gaming rig). Clear text, general backlight uniformity sitting about 30" away are my main concerns. Wanted a IPS panel, thought the direct light (non-edge) backlighting would work best (depth is not important). First impressions are great, about 5 hrs worth of staring at it :).

8 /10

Great sound& picture, lots of useful features
Overall, however, a great first Smart TV - and well worth the asking price!

10 /10

Perfect, clear picture and excellent sound.
Recommended by "Which" as the best 43"TV on the market [June 20 } It gave it an excellent review. I paid extra for a different central more stable stand that swivels.Amazing sound. The picture is a little orange red but the review pointed this out and it is a minor drawback, only if you prefer a paler, more natural picture as I do!

10 /10

An excellent all round TV
An all together excellent TV with great sound and picture. Quick delivery and an easy installation. The only problem at the minute is that you can't install normal terrestrial TV apps i.e. iPlayer, ITV Hub, All4 and My5. However I've now been informed this will be resolved in a software update. I've overcome this by having to purchase an Amazon Fire Stick.

10 /10

Great picture and sound
Bought 2 weeks ago so simple to set up as I am in my sixties picture great as is sound would definitely recommend

8 /10

So far so good
Only had it a week and hoping it lasts longer than the other two smart tvs we have had which failed within a month respectively. Picture is good as is the sound. One plus is that it has RCA connections. Does not have ITV or Channel 4/5 catch up hubs but does have iplayer, and youtube and some pay for viewing eg Netflix.

6 /10

Good picture, reasonable sound, but...
Biggest drawback is no Freeview Play and hence no main channels except pay channels available via broadband. If you are only going to use it for Live TV via the aerial then fine, otherwise don't buy!LG say there will be a software update sometime... maybe...

6 /10

Th TV is good but the remote is complex...
The picture and sound are very good but the so called 'magic' remote control is immensely complex, hard to learn and time consuming to operate. I have to make several of key depressions to do something as simple as bringing up subtitles which had a dedicated button on my old set. Similarly I need to use a headset at times and whereas I just flicked a switch on my old wireless headset, using Bluetooth again requires a series of key depressions. Is this progress? I don't think so!

10 /10

Perfect Smart tv for older generation.
Wanted a Smart tv that my 89 year old father could use. He gets confused with modern technology and finds it hard to get tv channels. Having spoken to your salesperson he advised a LG tv with simple controls and voice recognition. It has been a lifesaver. No problem getting Netflix or other channels. If any trouble just press home or speak and all is sorted.Usually Brian sorts the installation but he is in furlow. So had the tv installed with your recommended installer. The cost was worth it.No problems at all and very helpful. Delivery on time and also installation. Also great to have a 6 year guarantee.