LG 43UN70006LA Review

https://mk0thegradew8rxpvnhw.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/LG-43UN70006LA.png
Product Review
78%
The Grade
Experts Say
66%
Consumers Say
90%

What the experts say

rtings logo

7 /10

Rtings thought the LG 43Un70006LA was an okay entry-level TV at a budget price. It has wide viewing angles, low input lag (which is good when playing Xbox or Playstation) and handles reflections well. However, the screen does have drawbacks. The colour gamut is a bit narrow which means it can't reach its full HDR potential. The screen also doesn't get very bright, has a low-ish contrast ratio and on faster scenes there can be some motion blur.

What users say

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great TV!
I’ve only had this tv for 5 days but I absolutely love it ! I am slightly hard of hearing , and I can hear every word on this tv ! The apps are set up nicely . The picture is what I’m most impressed with . I currently have a 55” tcl 4K HDR and it doesn’t hold a candle to this tv . The best part is when there are scenes on a tv show that are in a dark setting , you are still able to see what’s happening ! My 55” is just a dark blur when it comes to dark scenes . I plan on buying this tv again in a larger size !

31 Mar 2021

8 /10

Good TV
The LG is a great TV for the price. Great sound and beautiful colors, lots of settings for your liking. Is a good size for a bedroom I bought a table stand to set it where my old one was very stable so thin doesn't take any depth space. The only thing is that doesn't have a jack for headphones so you need Bluetooth adapter since the the TV doesn't have Bluetooth capabilities

31 Mar 2021

8 /10

Good buy for price
Picture not as sharp as expected

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Good tv - fits well in the space
The only negative I have is that we had to buy a different stand for this TV, as it has the tiny feet spaced far apart. This wouldn't have worked on our old tower tv stand. So we bought a swivel tv stand that it mounted to and that worked perfectly. The TV quality is good.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Nice
So far really impressed. 1st UHD Smart TV

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Buy it!
Great quality and great price

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
Great display. Easy set up.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great TV especially for the price!
Love LG products and this TV does not disappoint. Great picture, great features, could not ask for more especially at this price. Replaced a Samsung 43 in HD TV that died days after the warranty ended. Will stick to LG products.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

It's LG for me!
Second LG I have purchased. Wonderful picture, excellent sound quality, couldn't ask for me. And Target's curbside delivery was spot-on. The price was exactly the same at the other big box stores.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

I love LG TV
I bought this TV for my son's room. 43" it's a perfect size. The picture quality is amazing. The price is good. I have always bought LG TV because I had an old LG TV since 2007 and still working really well. The brand I trust for TV.

31 Mar 2021

8 /10

(no review title)
This is a very nice TV. Im def impressed

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Nice features at an affordable price
Nice secondary TV for my bedroom. Easy to set up for streaming channels. Sound is decent but I plan to add a sound bar. The IPS feature makes a big difference and I was surprised to find this in a less expensive model.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great Deal for Awesome Smart TV
This tv was purchased 2 weeks ago. No complaints. The picture is awesome & everything is working great. Great deal with the online price!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
Love it, clear image

30 Mar 2021

6 /10

Just Good nit great
Not a great tv, I prefer the Amazon Fire TV. Not impressed.

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Nice TV
Great TV for the price. We compared the LG vs the Pricey Samsung. The comparison was very close. This is a great tv for the price. Nice sound and picture.

28 Mar 2021

9 /10

Pros: sleep timer
Cons: option to turn the scary - recommendations- voice off

27 Mar 2021

9 /10

Pros: Top quality picture
Cons: Kept losing stations and had to keep retuning - until I found online information on how to make changes in Settings so it wouldn’t do this

26 Mar 2021

8 /10

good tv
i got this tv for my daughters room, nice volume sound and image is clear., so far no complaints!

25 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great for the price.
I was a little reluctant to purchase after reading some negative reviews, but so far it’s great. The resolution and quality are what would be expected.

24 Mar 2021

10 /10

Love it
Love it. Love it love it

24 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great TV
This TV is great-especially for the price. The size is exactly what I needed & the picture is good.

24 Mar 2021

6 /10

Ehh?
Picture itself is alright but it seems as all the setting are either to bright or to dark.......if there was something in the middle it would be perfect. You just have to change the setting depending on the content/show your watching.

06 Mar 2021

2 /10

Great features. Great Price. Poor Quality.
This is my first LG from a SONY and I honestly wish I never made the switch. I've had this TV for a little over half a year now and after some time of using it, I can say without question I wish I had never purchased this TV. It's nice for your average user however if you like great picture at a great price, I would increase your budget like I wish I had. LG's webOS is super easy to use and honestly the Magic Remote that comes with this unit is a game changer. It's like using a Nintendo Wiimote on your TV and it makes navigating through the settings and apps a breeze. I recently hooked up a Roku to this TV and right away it recognized it and the Magic Remote works on the Roku which is awesome. I love how has component and composite inputs which was the main reason I purchased this TV as most manufacturers have moved to HDMI only these days. In a bright/well lit room this television looks great and the colors really pop however that's really where the good news ends. First off, the build quality feels incredibly cheap. The feet stands are just plastic and are held on by a single Philips screw. The casing is also incredibly hallow and I noticed along edges and closings pieces of plastic that were not broken off during assembly. As a gamer, I bought this for playing games and watching movies. This unit does have a game mode with really low latency which is great, however switching to "Game" mode for your PC and gaming consoles washes away the vivid colors and brightness. The picture becomes muddy, washed out and very faded for games if you leave it at it's default settings. I had to do alot of changes to the picture settings to get it just right and I've heard others have had to do the same. Watching movies is also really inconsistent. Again if you watch a bright scene or full screen movie, it looks great. But get a movie with black bards, a dark scene (as pictured) or even a black fade out and the light bleed is so bad that it's distracting and frustrating. From my tests the lighting on this TV is really uneven and the edges have really bright light bleed which I have been unable to remove in the settings. The sound is also incredibly weak on this unit. Anyone buying this TV, I would highly recommend getting a soundbar. Those who decide to stick with an LG soundbar will be happy to know if you get any of LG's soundbars, it will automatically sync up with the TV remote once connect so you don't have multiple remotes just to adjust the volume. Overall the features and connectivity of this TV are great and for the price, you cannot beat it, however its washed out "Game Mode" picture, poor and uneven lighting/build quality and lack of decent sound really makes it hard to recommend this or any of LG's mid to lower tier lineups.

23 Feb 2021

10 /10

Pros: Amazing TV well worth what I paid. I Iove that everything you need is on the remote control. It’s amazing
Cons: The only downside to the modal is the position of the TV legs. They are at either end if the TV, I would have prefer to have one base at the centre of the TV.

23 Jan 2021

1 /10

Pros: Nice good quality tv although the legs make it a bit cheap
Cons: It doesn’t support itv hub or all4 like previous models and they don’t inform you of this before selling it to you. This is very annoying and I would not recommend this tv at all as it feels like it’s not fit for purpose.

01 Jan 2021

8 /10

Great for a 4K monitor and actual useable speakers
Works great, and looks great. I picked this up to use as a monitor for my laptop while I'm at my desk. It's about the same price as a budget 4K monitor, but much larger. It doesn't have any Freesync or Gsync tech but the only gaming I'd intend to do on this would be from a console where that matters much less. With 4k displays for PC for productivity at this price range you have to make a decision of do you want a smaller display that you're going to lose some desktop real estate due to scaling or are you going to get a 40+" display where you can turn off scaling, get all the space for your windows you're working with and have to turn your head a little to see the far edges of the screen. While great for working on this is also great for 4K media when you want to take a break. Even though the max brightness on this TV is in what some critics would say is the HD AREN'T zone HDR content does look pretty good on this set. The smart TV features are quite nice, but not quite as good as having a dedicated streamer if you have streaming preferences that lean outside of the most major of services or are an Anime fan since the only Anime centered streaming service supported at the time of writing this is Funimation. HBO Max is also not present on this so plan on using a computer or other streaming box if you want to watch Wonder Woman 84 or Game of Thrones. The Speakers actually surprised me the most since I'm used to TV speakers being hot garbage at best even at the high end. This will still benefit from better speakers from a sound bar or Surround sound system if you're making this your main TV for movies, but the speakers on this sound good enough that it's not an immediate necessity.

12 Nov 2020

10 /10

A very decent 4K TV at a great price!
I’m using this in my bedroom. After fine tuning the display to my liking, I’m really happy with the TV and think it represents a great value. The internal speakers aren’t bad, but I have it hooked up to a 3.1 LG Soundbar via HDMI. I also tried a 50” VIZIO model, which ended up being too big for my bedroom, and the LG picture quality was superior. LG seems to want you to use their picture presets, and some of them look pretty good out of the gate, but in addition to the standard picture controls, there are additional Advanced Controls & Picture Options that can be adjusted. I “screen mirrored” my iPad via AirPlay and used it as a calibration guide. It really helped me to remove blown out highlights and get the color more accurate. Airplay is nice to have and I often use it to watch movies and YouTube videos. LG also offers a pretty decent built in TV streaming service and apps like Pluto with hundreds of channels, if you don’t have cable or satellite.

03 Aug 2020

1 /10

Pros: Good picture and sound
Cons: No iplayer apps for BBC, ITV or Channel 4. Didn’t state this in description. Apparently LG say no 2020 tv of theirs includes this, so if important to you, stay clear of LG tvs. Very disappointed in purchase.

26 May 2020

8 /10

Overall Good Purchase
Purchased during COVID-19, Would have been nice to see this TV in the store along with other brands. I’ve owned an LG before and liked it. This is my first smart TV so it took a little adjusting to get used to operating it. Several days ago I was watching it and the TV turned off automatically. I thought oh no! Come to find out it has a power mode, if there is no activity from the watcher it will shut off after two hours. Had to go into the settings and turn this option off. The color is pretty good, but I do have to adjust it for different programs, that’s something I never had to do before. I mostly use vivid and sporting mode to get the sharpest and intense colors. I do like the remote, but wish that it would light up at night so you can see the keypad. Also this remote does not have the option of favorite channel. The magic feature is really great just point and press the dial at the TV screen. The sound is much better on this TV than my Insigna TV. I also like the feature of Alexa and Google assistant. Overall I would say that I am happy with my purchase and I got this TV on sale. If you’re looking for Apple fourth generation you need to upgrade to a nano this only has third-generation AppleTV not 4th. You can only use it for streaming you cannot access your Apple account or iCloud.

10 May 2020

10 /10

Exceptional 4K PC Monitor
First, if you would like to use this as a PC monitor, go to rtings.com and see a review/guide to set this up for that purpose. As of 5/10/2020 this model is not there but it's mostly identical to 43UM7300xxx. The most important thing for you to set is to change your HDMI input's ICON as PC and name it as a PC - then it starts working 1:1 pixel matching mode. Also don't forget to set 'HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color' and 'Game Mode' to enable RGB 4:4:4 and lowest latency. Can't be happier with this for an awesome 4k PC monitor. I have tried TCL 43s405 (VA panel) which is also pretty good but this is better in terms of latency (this feels really like a monitor level latency) and view angle. One small thing is that I am working very close - within 2.5ft or so from the screen, the backlight is not right behind the LCD pixels so it looks a bit flotty around the edges which does not bother me too much. I also have tried Samsung's 55 curved for PC monitor and it was hard for me to set it up perfectly like this one. Considering the price and size, I am more than satisfied with this

03 May 2020

8 /10

My First LG TV And I'm Very Impressed
So I'm no expert in contrast ratio, gray uniformity or any other technical stuff most of the review sites use. And I'm not a gamer. But to me this is a really great TV. The picture quality is very good. Especially in 4k. Setup was pretty simple. Most of the settings out of the box were set perfectly so all most people will need to do is just plug it in. The initial onscreen setup was flawless. You'll be up and running in minutes. My favorite feature on the TV is the Filmmaker mode (comes preset). I really can't explain it but it makes scenes in movies look like directors cuts. It's very up-close and vivid. It's really cool. You'll watch a movie you've already seen and be blown away by the differences. The Ultra Surround setting (you need to enable it) adds depth to the audio. I think the sound quality on the TV is excellent. The picture mode is set to APS. I scrolled through all of the picture mode settings and found the default setting to be the best. I know you can fine tune it, but to me the picture quality is great. Again, I'm no expert on this stuff. To me it looks fine. But there are options if you're interested. I really haven't used the remote much. I have Fios and their remote has voice control so I just use that. I also have an Apple TV connect so I use that for apps like Netflix and Prime Video. But I did use the remote for setup and it works very good. I can see why people rave about it. The one thing I'm really looking forward to is the sports alerts. You'll need to set these up yourself, but you can have the TV add your favorite teams from the four major sports leagues and it will alert you on screen when games are on and the with score updates. I'm really looking forward to seeing this feature (eventually, when sports returns). The only negative is connecting the TV to Google Home. I may be doing something wrong but it doesn't seem to work. It's recognized in the Google Home app, but it does not connect. The LG app does work with the TV though so you can control the power, volume and channels. I'm purchasing an Echo Dot to see if that will connect better with the TV. Fios integrates with Alexa anyway so I think it will work better either way. And the TV has an Alexa app built in by default. So I should have better luck with that. Overall this is a great TV. It's my first LG and I'm very impressed. The ease of use, multiple settings to choose from and overall quality for an entry level price is impressive. I'm now an LG fan for life.

25 Mar 2020

10 /10

Great quality for Price
This gets five stars, as it currently stands. I'll see how long it lasts. I game on here. Input lag varies from 10-13 milliseconds. Sometimes, when using an HDMI splitter, however, there is NO INPUT LAG. From what I've tested with my "creep-mode" camera, the pixels are PURE RGB, not RGBW. This is probably why the image is so stunning. The TV is also VERY bright. I currently own the UH6300 (2016), UJ6300 (2017), UK6300 (2018) and this model (2020). Out of all of these models, I'm most impressed with the 2020 model, the UN7300. Out of the aforementioned TV's, the UH6300 has the best picture quality, but it was priced higher when initially released and has no IPS panel. This tv offers virtually the same picture quality and brightness, with an IPS panel, for only $329. I play ranked Apex Legends (Diamond 3) and Gears of War 5 on the Xbox One X. The refresh rate is still 60hz, but motion feels smoother than previous generations, much easier to track targets. On the PS4 Pro, I play Monster Hunter World and the Witcher 3. Coming from mainly using the UJ6300, I can admit I was initially blown away with how much better games look on this TV, incredible. ALLM is a thing on this TV, too (assuming "Instant Game Response" is ALLM). It works on the Xbox one, but I haven't gotten any reaction from the PS4 Pro. In general, I think ALLM needs more time to develop. I say this because I had trouble initially getting the TV to recognize the Xbox's ALLM setting--seems to be working fine now, though. If you're gaming with either single-player or multiplayer titles, turn noise reduction and MPEG noise reduction off; it dramatically increases latency. I would indefinitely leave those two settings off. Smooth gradation is another setting; sometimes I like it for single-player experiences. The gradation effect makes things look more cinematic to me, at the cost of lost detail in shadows and increased input lag. Still, I think it's great for regular 4K content and games where input lag doesn't really matter as much (e.g. Witcher 3 and Monster Hunter World). Just as someone else mentioned, this is wonderful as a monitor. I edit videos a lot and need consistent and accurate colors between my laptop (HP Omen), Wacom tablet and TV. With that being said, I can get colors on this display perfectly matched with what I see on my other screens. The pure RGB color space of this TV really does help with overall image quality. The sound is great, similar to previous models. So far, it's so good.

23 Mar 2020

10 /10

New WFH monitor
PURE computer monitor. I have two 28 4k S brand monitors that I've been using for 2+yrs and I've been looking to upgrade my main display(s). I code and do general image and video work. No gaming on these two machines (I have a different gaming rig). Clear text, general backlight uniformity sitting about 30" away are my main concerns. Wanted a IPS panel, thought the direct light (non-edge) backlighting would work best (depth is not important). First impressions are great, about 5 hrs worth of staring at it :).

10 /10

Excellent service
TV bought online and delivered within a tight time frame. First rate delivery service as well, the phone call to check there are no issues is a simple thing but means a huge amount.

10 /10

Great customer service
Twice i had issue with 2 Panasonic TVs, Richer Sounds Maidstone were more than helpful and efficient. I have been a customer for so many years and after these issues i intend to stay a faithful customer. Well done.

10 /10

Best buy without a doubt
All in all I'm extremely happy with my purchase and would recommend this model to anyone looking for a quality 4K TV at a reasonable price.

10 /10

LG Returning Customer
I recently bought this TV & I am very pleased with it, the price & the service from Richersounds. The 6 year guarantee was the icing on cake, would definitely recommend both.

8 /10

Great value
Pros : Great picture, good sound, plugged in my Virgin box and away!Very light and easy to hang on the wall, even 55 inch!If you are trying to decide, 55 inch is not too big!Cons : Annoying propietery web service, would have liked to be able to download Skype or Zoom or any app I wanted to, can only download what LG want you to!

10 /10

Happy bear
Brought this tv on black Friday deal. Well happy with tv quality and service from Richer Sounds

4 /10

Screen dead in the first month use.
Despite the TV have decent software capabilities, I found that it is a cheap quality product in overall compare to LG nano-cell TVs. Mine has screen faulty in the first month of use and I replaced it with Nono-cell version. So, if you can afford to go for better TV.

10 /10

Excellent Smart TV
I purchased this 4K TV as a Christmas present for my daughter in London. My sister purchased the same LG model from Richer Sounds (Belfast) a few weeks earlier. The image is sharp and it has beautiful colour renditions for the money paid for this excellent smart TV. Its a brilliant gift and definitely recommend purchasing from Richer Sounds.