Kenwood kMix Review

https://www.thegrade.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Kenwood-kMix.png
Product Review
93%
The Grade
Experts Say
91.67%
Consumers Say
95%

What the experts say

expert reviews logo

10 /10

Expert Reviews thought the kMix provided a superb balance of price and performance, delivering good results and a decent capacity at a cost cheaper than a lot of its rivals. They did consider it was heavy and maybe not as well designed as some other options, but still worthy of the best possible score.

9 /10

BBC Good Food raved about the Kmix’s stylish design although the tendency of the chrome finish to pick up fingerprints was highlighted. Good Food was impressed with the steel attachments and compared it favourably with leading competitor the KitchenAid, although they did find the splash guard tricky to remove. The 5-litre capacity was praised, as was the ability for it to deal with smaller volumes of food when needed.

good housekeeping logo

9 /10

Good Housekeeping pointed out some of the practicalities of the kMix including the fact all the attachments can be stored within the bowl when not in use and the fact both the bowl and all attachments can go in the dishwasher. It passed the test when kneading dough and mixing cakes. The bowl was considered heavy but the pouring lip and glass-bottom made it very easy to use.

What users say

27 Jan 2021

10 /10

Pros: The design is strong, great ergonomics, the tools fit and work will. The only issue is the creaming beater should be included too. I would not mind the additional expense. The creaming beater is essential to stop the scrap down of batter. The creaming beater isn’t available at Kenwood so this is frustrating.
Cons: The only issue is the creaming beater should be included too. I would not mind the additional expense. The creaming beater is essential to stop the scrap down of batter. The creaming beater isn’t available at Kenwood so this is frustrating.

18 Nov 2020

6 /10

Disappointed
Appears well made. 1 of the main reasons for buying it was the 5 yr motor guarantee as I bake a lot of bread and bread makers dont last. The dough hook doesn’t work well and the recommended kneading time of 5 minutes is not enough. The bowl is so high it’s a struggle to add anything while the mixer is working. It also doesn’t beat as well or as quickly as my hand mixer so the cakes don’t turn out as well. For the price it is a huge disappointment. I dont feel it is worth it.

20 Oct 2020

9 /10

Pros: Really quiet and very professional
Cons: Wouldn't have bought if it wasn't on offer. Can very easily overmix ingredients so have to be careful of the settings

25 Aug 2020

10 /10

Pros: This is a very sturdy machine. Looks great in the kitchen, and I love the bowl cover too. Everything 'clicks' in place nicely and it's really straight forward to use. The attachments are stainless steel not aluminium so you can pop them in the dishwasher with them discolouring. I got this in the sale, but still so much cheaper than the other over priced brand.
Cons: I have the silver one and the only point is you need a soft cloth to polish the finger marks off after use. But that's hardly a bad point!

25 Jul 2020

6 /10

My 40 year old Kenwood chef was much better
The glass bowl is heavy and very difficult to get on and off the machine. The base attachment often jams. The lever for lifting the machine so that the bowl can be removed is also very clunky and often jams. The design of the dough hook is not as good as on the old machine and takes a lot longer to combine the ingredients. The maximum time that the machine can be used on the dough mix setting is 5 minutes. Overall, l really dislike using the new machine and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

13 Jan 2020

6 /10

Pros: It does what it says and mixes things and does so quicker and easier than I could myself.
Cons: I bought this model specifically because it had been awarded the Quiet Mark and although I have been assured that it is quieter than other mixers it is still very noisy to me and my children. I always have to scrape mixture down off the side of the bowl even though the product indicating this wouldn’t be necessary due to the specially designed beater. Although it is obvious where and how to lock the bowl in place, this does not match up with the sticker placed on the product. As I had previously read the splashguard is tricky to put on and take off but is manageable. This product does not have the range of accessories that other models do. If it had not been for the Quiet Mark I would not have bought this item and I regret doing so but as a machine in its own right it does what it says so can still be recommended just with caution.

15 Oct 2019

10 /10

it's worth all the money
Everything is so easy to do now love it it makes baking a piece of cake. Recommend to everyone!

04 Sep 2019

10 /10

Kenwood mixer
My new kenwood mixer is fantastic and I can bye add ons it looks very good ,

02 Jul 2019

10 /10

Pros: Nice and quiet compared to other machines.
Cons: Shape of dough hook, not like the chef?

04 Jan 2019

10 /10

Best stand mixer I have purchased so far
This was my Christmas gift to myself, best stand mixer so far and a very good price. Love it have tried and tested it on a few recipes can't wait to try others. The set up was easy the machine is well made, heavier than I thought but very easy to use and doesn't take up too much room on kitchen counter. I like my kitchen appliances so this is another plus! Love it and would recommend it to anyone interested in this brand kenwood is a good make. Not much noise!

06 Nov 2018

10 /10

Very good looking and works a treat.
This the best stand mixer I have had. Even better than it’s Rival. I’ve made bread and cakes they have turned out fabulous. It is a little pricy but You certainly get what u pay for. Very pleased.

16 Aug 2018

10 /10

Looks great, makes baking so easy.
3 attachments covers all baking needs. Easy to clean and dishwasher friendly. I bought this as it scored higher in all areas compared to a KitchenAid in work done by Which. I have not been disappointed.

08 Oct 2017

10 /10

Can’t believe I’ve done without one
I’ve never seen the point in getting a mixer having made cakes by hand for 20 odd years but now I’ve got this magical machine it’s quiet and does everything I need to make baked goods I’ve only made cakes and bread so far but looking at the kenwood website there are a few new recipes that I can try and I can’t wait, easy to set up and clean after use, a guard with hatch for adding extras to mix, looks good too very happy baker

08 Oct 2017

10 /10

Great baking gadget
+ great design + value for money + sturdy bowl + locks easily + super fast whisking + has all the attachtments needed for baking! Will definitely recommend this product to all my baking friends! - if you have small hands u will find it difficult to pick it up and also the heavy mising bowl - read instructions before using it, as i almost broke the latch at the back as i wasnt sure how to unlock the lid. Overall an lovely mixer and one of the best ones out there!!!

05 Oct 2017

10 /10

Stylish upgrade
Really impressed with this mixer - it's compact yet solid and beautifully made. I've had a Kenwood Chef for years but find the metal bowl puts my teeth on edge so I was pleased the Kmix has a glass bowl. The handle and pouring spout are useful features, and the beater reaches right to the bottom of the bowl (minimising scraping down). Great range of speeds and there is a safety cut-out if you try to lift the arm while the mixer is switched on.