Dyson V7 Animal Review

https://mk0thegradew8rxpvnhw.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Dyson-V7-Animal.png
Product Review
93%
The Grade
Experts Say
92.33%
Consumers Say
94%

What the experts say

expert reviews logo

8 /10

Expert Reviews considered the V7 an excellent choice for small flats with hard flooring but suggested you look elsewhere if you need to clean a lot of carpets. Its lightweight frame made it easy to move around but limited battery life and small bin size meant cleaning would have to be stop-start in larger homes.

trusted reviews logo

10 /10

Trusted Reviews was very impressed with V7 and in particular its ease of use and performance on any type of flooring. Easy emptying and its ability to pick up pet hair were particular highlights. The selection of tools was praised along with its suitability for cleaning stairs. The only downside was the high price.

good housekeeping logo

10 /10

Good Housekeeping gave the V7 a close to perfect score, only losing out points on the quality of the provided instructions - although with 5/5 for ease of use you may not even need them. Highlights included a washable lifetime filter, good manoeuvrability and the fact the suction power level rivalled a full-size vacuum. GH didn't like the fact on high power it could get quite hot and the fact you had to keep the power button pressed down to keep it running.

What users say

27 Mar 2021

8 /10

Good Cordless Vacuum
This vacuum works great for everyday quick vacuuming across all of my floors (Linoleum and indoor/outdoor carpeting), which is the reason I bought it. I love the fact that it is cordless, lightweight, and has several attachments included. I don't have animals in my house, so I do not have an opinion about how it would work picking up animal hair, but it does not have the power of my corded vacuum, which I use for more heavy duty cleaning. The attachments work fairly well, but the crevice tool is not long enough for use in my car between the seats and does not really have the suction needed for proper cleaning. The other attachments for stairs, upholstery, etc. seem to work sufficiently. The price of this vacuum is rather steep compared to other similar products and whether it is worth the upgraded price or not, I really don't have an opinion. However, the warranty is much better, it has a replaceable battery (that many cordless vacs do not), plus the fact that Dyson is a brand name and usually brand name appliances stand behind their products. That is the main reason I chose to pay the higher price for a cordless vacuum.

16 Jan 2021

10 /10

Addiction warning
I thought I hated vacuuming. What I must have disliked about vacuuming was plugging in, unplugging, plugging in, and on and on. Now when I see stuff on the carpet or floor, I just grab it off the charger and go. Love how the attachments are easily switched out. I've even used the soft brush attachment to dust surfaces. Also, love the smaller brush head which works great in the SUV. So far no battery problems but I don't run it on the max setting. I think I have vacuumed my house more in the past month than the past year. Just seeing all the dirt makes you realize how often you need to be vacuuming. Fantastic product!

30 Nov 2020

8 /10

Pros: so easy to just walk around with
Cons: Bigger dust collector

25 Nov 2020

10 /10

Best Vacuum Ever
Another excellent vacuum from dyson!! In total between me and my parents and in-laws we have 5 dyson vacuums. Would highly recommend 5*

14 Nov 2020

10 /10

My vacuum cleaner is fab and easy to use
My vacuum cleaner is fab and easy to use

09 Nov 2020

10 /10

Makes life much easier, especially upstairs
Such a handy vacuum cleaner. Easy to clean stairs and bedroom carpets.

04 Nov 2020

10 /10

A great little vacuum cleaner
A good efficient vacuum cleaner to clean all those little places around the home with the tools provided any place can be reached however he can be a little difficult to open to empty into the bin.

03 Nov 2020

10 /10

Its amazing
For a small vacuum its amazing do much suction loads of accessories to do an entire house clean

03 Nov 2020

10 /10

Carpets have never looked so clean
So powerful light and easy actually enjoy cleaning with it.

31 Oct 2020

1 /10

Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Needs longer battery life!! It’s basically a posh carpet sweeper. After using the edging tool in bedrooms went to hoover through Ran out of charge a total of 10-12 mins - I live in a 3 bed semi not a mansion. I’m a bit of a clean freak but this product left me disappointed. I wanted a shark got talked out of it by dyson rep returned the dyson after 24 hours and swapped it for a shark which I’m happy with!

29 Oct 2020

10 /10

So easy to use
I thought about buying one of these for a couple of years and always put it off. I absolutely should have bought it sooner Gone are the days of lugging a big Hoover up and down my stairs and everywhere is so easy to reach. It has a powerful suction and is just so easy. I love the emails I received after purchase which will remind me when and how to clean the filters. The aftercare and easy purchase of any parts that need replacing over the years is second to none

21 Oct 2020

10 /10

Pros: Light weight. Not having to plug in within every room, the flexibility to just walk round the house and complete the vacuuming of the whole house in 15 minutes. Good suction. Portably to use on the stairs and within the car. Really very impressed - one of those things, if it broke I would instantly replace.
Cons: I would have preferred a more masculine choice of colours.

20 Oct 2020

5 /10

Pros: It’s quite light and can be stored neatly
Cons: The battery life is terrible and the collection capacity is small

18 Oct 2020

8 /10

Pros: Lightweight and easy to manoeuvre. Great set of attachments to get into all the nooks and crannys
Cons: It only lasts 15 minutes with the bigger attachment, which isn't ideal. I don't like keeping on it charge all the time, so I sometimes start and have to charge half way through.

18 Sep 2020

10 /10

Best Vacuum Purchase Yet
I was on the fence about buying something so expense, bc let's face it.... I don't spending a lot of money on things. However, this vacuum is worth EVERY penny! There was a sale for this one at the time (which is why I went for it) but STILL.... Dyson doesn't mess around! I only have (1) dog but it picks up her hair effortlessly on my area rugs. I also live with all boys who like to track in mud, grass, you name it and this thing picks up the smallest of particles without a problem. Best thing is I can have my kids use it without feeling guilty.

17 Sep 2020

6 /10

Think what you need before you buy!
The run time on high power/suction with the attachment to get pet hair up off the sofa only lasts 6 minutes! Now I don’t know what I was expecting on a full charge but definitely more than 6 minutes! 8 minutes changing the attachment to clean the car - I had to charge it 3 times to do the car! if you want a quick and easy pick up crumbs its for you. It lasts longer on low power/less suction (obviously) but I found it didn’t pick up well. All in all expensive for what it does.

27 Aug 2020

6 /10

Not so much an animal
Purchased this model to replace an aged corded Dyson. This model is nowhere near as effective as my old one. I’ve spoken to Dyson as the battery only lasts 3 mins before being discharged. Unfortunately Dyson haven’t really taken much notice of my emails

20 Jul 2020

8 /10

easy to use
Convenient, light weight, and low noise. You have to hold down the power button the entire time. Charging plug is awkward.

19 Jun 2019

10 /10

Must have if you own pets!
Best vacuum purchase ever! I love this cordless vacuum! Only takes 3.5 hours to charge and it goes an amazing job of keeping my home clean of pet hair and allergens! I installed everything myself ladies!

26 Mar 2019

4 /10

I'm super disappointed
Have had this device for 6 months and now its flashing a red light meaning there is a fault, called Dyson and they said it was because the filter on top isn't being cleaned(not the container), my house is all tile and 2 of the bedrooms have carpet maybe 1200 sq for the entire house total, so it's not being over used, I soaked the filter there was nothing in it, she said that they are designed to look clean but need to be soaked once a month. Also never used the device on max. I'm just glad she is sending a new battery but I imagine an actual home that is bigger and has more carpet, Dyson is not gonna cut it unless you want it to crap out on you after 3 months. Super disappointed and will not be buying Dyson again. My 80 dollar vacuum did a better job and lasted 3 years.

21 Dec 2018

10 /10

Love my Dyson!
This little thing is amazing. I have a small 400sq ft apartment with a couple of cats and it does the trick on quick cleanup and discreet space saving. I could not store a standard floor based vacuum, this provides both next level Dyson suction (they are levels above their competitors, in my opinion) and the ability to mount on a wall. Mines mounted about 5-6 feet up my kitchen wall and saves floor space and keeps it from being the centerpiece in the room, haha. I love this vacuum, I appreciate the quality and thought in design as well as getting 5 tools with the animal version (4 standard tools, one pet tool), they get the job done. Take into account the battery life... if you are looking to cover a lot of vacuuming in your house with it, it may not be the best solution. It’s great for cleaning local areas around where you keep it, but you wouldn’t want it for regular cleaning around a 5 bed, 2 & 1/2 bath, 3 car garage, and 4 season porch sized-house. :P

16 May 2018

10 /10

Easy to use, clean, and do the job I needed
I have 2:yellow labs leaving a mass of hair that walks with me on our hardwood floors, ugh! With a quick once over, far less hair on carpet, floors, and clothing