Dyson V11 Torque Drive Review

https://mk0thegradew8rxpvnhw.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Dyson-V11-Torque-Drive.png
Product Review
92%
The Grade
Experts Say
88%
Consumers Say
96%

What the experts say

wired logo

8 /10

Wired was impressed with the look of the V11 Torque Drive, its lightweight construction and powerful suction. The large bin meant it didn’t need constant emptying and suction is automatically adjusted according to the surface it is being used on. The price was highlighted as a potential sticking point, as well as suggestions that there may be reliability issues.

10 /10

Modern Castle was very impressed with the V11 Torque Drive with particular highlights including the display showing cleaning time remaining, 3 power modes and the fact the most recent version of the model has a removable battery. 185 AW of suction power resulted in good performance, although it is very expensive and the bin is smaller than you may find on an upright cleaner.

What users say

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
It's really an excellent and powerful .. you'll be very satisfied when you get it.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great vacuum. Great Purchase
This vacuum picks up dust and dirt like no other that I have owned and I also own an upright Dyson, an upright Hoover, and a canister Electrolux that cost over $1000. It’s not perfect, by no means, but my house is cleaner than it has ever been because of this new v11 torque and I have 3 small dogs. They give you several tools that work very nicely-but no storage bag for them. This vacuum’s cleaning ability is worth 5 stars. It’s somewhat light for me and I can carry it around to all of my rooms, but I got a little tired of pressing the button down and I did have to give my hand a few rests. But I still love it’s cleaning ability. Now, the bad points. If it’s on eco mode, you can vacuum for a long time, but if you need the boost mode for the corners and edges, while you’re using the crevice tool, you only have a short 20 minutes. Then, you need to recharge for 5 hours. So go do something else I guess. Another bad point is that while the dirt holder looks big-it is not. I had to unfollow it 3 times during one cleaning. But so much dirt and dog hair went into the trash that I really didn’t mind. And my floors-carpet and ceramic tile-were just vacuumed less than a week ago with my Hoover. Target gave me a good deal because it had 30 percent off of vacuums and it was already on sale, so it was total $408 with tax-rather than the sale price of $499. Seems like a lot of money, but the vacuum has a two year Dyson guarantee and I am using it every day. If you can get it anywhere near the $400 price it is a good buy and it’s so nice not to have the cord. I’ll never buy a corded vacuum again. If this goes on sale again, or if the price drops, I will buy one for my daughter and might buy another one just for upstairs.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Dyson V11 Torque Drive Cordless Vacuum
great i like it works great and vacuum is not loud at all

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
I will admit that I had a problem spending this kind of money for an appliance that was to clean hardwood floors, and carpet runners. I take all my thoughts back. This has to be the best vacuum I have ever used. The 3 different levels are amazing. The suction on it, is as they say - so powerful. And quiet! Who would have thought such a powerful vacuum would be so quiet. The money was well spent. I am very pleased in this purchase.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

great
awesome vacuum .. cant believe i waited so long to go cordless...

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Awesome
Great sweeper that picks up everything

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Best Vacuum
The best vacuum. Glad i got this over the other v11 models and it’s much more robust. Worried the other versions would be too heavy so this is the perfect weight. This is such a fantastic vacuum!!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

A Must Have!
I have been thinking about a Dyson for a while now and finally got this one. Should have gotten it sooner! Game changer! Love this vacuum!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great upgrade
Upgraded from a corded Dyson Animal that’s about 11 years old. This new cordless turbo is great. I have a 2600 SQF two-story home and completed floor cleaning just about everywhere on a single charge. I was worried about holding down the trigger in use but it’s not so bad (I alternate fingers) and the unit is pretty light The canister is smaller so it’s more trips to get it emptied but it empties much easier and cleaner than the old version. I like that the turbo version shows battery life on screen so you can pace your cleaning. Best part is vacuuming the stairs is so much easier now!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Awesome!
Upgraded from one of the old versions of "The Animal.". It was 5 or so years old but still worked decently. Until I used this one. Holy cow! Really glad I upgraded! Works like a champ. My first though was how quiet it was.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Vacuum
It was great. I love the light weight ness.

31 Mar 2021

2 /10

Not ideal for extended cleaning sessions

27 Mar 2021

10 /10

Spend the Money and Buy This
I have been wanting a Dyson for a long time now, my Shark cordless stopped sucking after 2 years and decided to just spend the money. So happy I did, it’s incredibly easy to use. I thought I would hate having to hold the button, but the handle is designed with great ergonomics that even my small hand is comfortable. It vacuumed my impossible rug to vacuum and my hardwood floors amazingly. And with two cats and one German Shepard mix dog, there’s plenty of fluff, but this Dyson gets it all!

24 Mar 2021

10 /10

Dyson V11 torque drive
I have the first generation Dyson V6 cordless and love it. I decided to upgrade to the V11 torque drive and love it even more. I own several Dyson products and they are truly the best. Would totally recommend

23 Mar 2021

10 /10

Dysentery V11
Love this vacuum. Great suction and very easy to use.

06 Mar 2021

8 /10

Dyson cordless V10
I love how easy it is to get this vacuum around, which makes it nice to go up and down stairs. It is light and easy to empty and clean, the rotating head is awesome to getting under and around things also. The only thing I would say would make it better is if you didn’t have to hold in the lever for it to go. Otherwise all of settings are fabulous, the different heads allow for furniture cleanings to get out hair from textured fabrics and my daughter even loves to help clean with it. I look forward to more dyson products in my home.

25 Feb 2021

8 /10

Loving it BUT...
Packaging is amazing, setup was super easy, it is a beautifully and well crafted machine! As everyone mentions, the motor is incredible! It has a lot of suction power and the fact that the vacuum is cordless is a plus, plus! I read a complaint regarding the disposal canister and I can’t say I agree. The system emptied my trash flawlessly and I did not have to touch the trash at all. You are also able to take it apart and clean the unit entirely. Despite all the amazing things there are 1-2 BUTS or cons if you will... 1) after a while of vacuuming, my hand and wrist got super tired. This is because the unit puts a lot of pressure on your trigger finger. You constantly have to be applying pressure for the machine to function. I wish they had devised a button where the vacuum stays on and then you can also use the trigger option when you want. 2) since you are maneuvering the machine with the same hand that you are applying pressure to the trigger it does get heavy after a while. At times I had to stop, take a small break and then continue. I also changed hands from time to time. Otherwise I love the machine but those 2 cons above don’t allow me to award the full 5 stars it potentially deserves. I gifted another one of these to my 70 yo mother and I am wondering if she will have issues with her hand - she has already had carpal tunnel surgery.

17 Feb 2021

10 /10

Its great so easy to use
Irs so easy to use and picks up all fine dog hair with no problems .I wish I'd changed to cordless sooner .I've always gone for dyson its the best highly recommend

17 Feb 2021

10 /10

Dyson v11
Wow what an amazing hand held hoover yet again Dyson smashes it out of the ball park Does everything you need from floors to hard floors.

03 Feb 2021

7 /10

Pros: No cord, anti hair wrap is good, suction is just about ok on full power but that drains the battery way too fast.
Cons: Bigger storage bin, longer life battery or a spare one as it does run down quickly when using decent suction. A permanently on switch as the handle rubs against your finger whilst keeping the power switch pressed down making it uncomfortable to use.

30 Jan 2021

9 /10

Pros: The suction is fantastic, much better than the cordless Vax I had been using (though that cost £400 less). It's incredibly convenient to use due to the size and lack of a trailing power cord and the canister is very easy to empty. The battery is replaceable which is great to see, meaning potentially I could vacuum for twice as long if I buy another battery. Very maneuverable. I find that I vacuum more often now that we have this in the house.
Cons: It came with a tool holder for the different attachments that come with it, but unfortunately they can't all fit on there. A silly oversight.It is much heavier than I would like as all the weight is in your hand, instead of near to the floor.And the trigger had to be held down during use, it will turn off when you take your finger of the trigger. This can be very tiring as you are holding ask that weight at the same time. A trigger lock would be great.At this price it's annoying that there is no free-standing dock included. There was an offer earlier in the year where it was included, so they can do it, they just choose to charge £70 extra for it instead. To be clear, the tool holder which comes with it is made to be affixed to a wall and that will hold it up, and charge it while it is in there, but that will require some drilling and it's a pretty permanent solution, stop not at all flexible with future needs.

18 Jan 2021

8 /10

Pros: PowerfulEasy Vacuuming & bin emptyVery quietNo cable to snag or get in the way
Cons: Torque drive head wheels mark carpets, you need to reverse over areas you have vacuumed forward in motion to remove them.Handle trigger could have been designed more comfortable due to the weight in hand.Ridiculous price

17 Jan 2021

9 /10

Pros: Motor power
Cons: On/Off switch

04 Nov 2020

10 /10

easy to assemble.
The wife is over the moon with this Dyson torque vacuum. the battery life is amazing twice round the house still only used 30% of charge, we are in our 70s it is so light to use the wife was not tired when done LOL.

14 Oct 2020

10 /10

Worth every penny !!
Bought this V11 after having the V6 for approx 6 years. The difference is amazing. Great it can move between different surfaces without having to change the head. Very powerful suction and even more capacity than my previous one. A great addition to the house. It is quite pricey but it’s worth it in my opinion. Would recommend this to anyone.

13 Aug 2020

9 /10

Pros: Battery life good, versatile and powerful
Cons: It is not worth the monies

05 Aug 2020

10 /10

Love Dyson products
So far so good! A dog and a family with long hair and it seems to be performing well. Handy to use whilst cleaning the car as well. The only downside is the battery life if you use the boost mode - but it doesn’t need to be used all the time - eco mode will suffice.

04 Aug 2020

10 /10

Henry hoover made redundant
Bought this for my daughter and she is very happy with it.made henry hoover redundant

04 Aug 2020

10 /10

My Dyson V11 fab product!
Extremely easy to use, not heavy, perfect hovering, no noise, long lasting time battery! Highly recommended!!!

28 Jul 2020

10 /10

What a sucker
Wow this is great best vacuum I have ever had its just a bit heavy at first But you get used to it ,easy to empty out

08 Jul 2020

10 /10

Handy
Very powerful but a bit heavy

24 Jun 2020

10 /10

V11 looks great
Up graded from an older animal to the V11 animal. What an upgrade, so many more useful features. 3 suction settings for any floor you have, and a battery level indicator to let you know when it needs charging. Emptying the V11 is so much easier to do, one simple push and it's done. Great upgrade would highly recommend it.

04 Jan 2020

10 /10

Worth every penny!
The fact alone that I don’t have to unwrap a thousand foot cord just to vac up small debris or pet hair when I see it, I thought I’d sacrifice power for convenience, but the reviews were good. This thing is a monster. Absolutely blows away my previous Dyson animal canister vac. I find myself vacuuming daily just because it’s so fun to use. I thought the battery life might become an issue since it drops from 100% to 60% quickly within 5-7 minutes, but it never loses suction and to be honest I don’t need much more than 10 minutes vac time anyway since I’m vacuuming almost daily now. It conveniently fits on its charger cradle in a very tight spot that keeps it out of view for the most part. The emptying procedure is easy and mess-free. There’s no dust escaping the seals and I can tell allergens will be trapped in rather than spread around. I’d give it 10 stars if I could.

26 Mar 2019

10 /10

The GOLD Standard...Once and for all!
Sunday, March 24, 2019 8:24 PM I must say this vacuum is impressive and nothing short of amazing! From the moments spent unboxing to the ease of use, this Dyson oozes sophistication and innovation. Dyson vacuums are the gold standard for a reason and the V11 takes the crown. With this latest rendition incorporating a color LCD screen, it takes the guesswork out of battery life and/or troubleshooting. You will enjoy long cleaning sessions with the wide array of cleaning tools provided. From the pesky and annoying stair jobs to dusting and clearing sofa cushions, I find myself vacuuming more making this my new workhorse. My wife likes it so much she gave away our old cord vacuum. The motor automatically calibrates in real time depending on the different attachments and tools. It is mobile and lasts long enough to vacuum my 2600sqft home with 40% battery to spare including the stairs. This has truly replaced our traditional corded vacuums. Be prepared to be shocked and in awe of the power and efficiency of this cleaning powerhouse. Most notable features Display-the color display makes the vacuum. It clearly communicates to the user what is going on. Powerful deep cleaning-it is shocking how much your old vacuum has left. I am still getting stuff after vacuuming. Battery-offers more than enough time to make it through the day on a single charge. Intelligent suction - automatically adjusts vacuum speed to clean any surface while optimizing battery consumption. Build quality-you know this is quality when you hold it. It is built like a weapon made to last the many wars on dirt. My recommendations and comments Weight-one handed extended use is taxing on the forearm when using to spot clean. Two hands will become the norm for extended use. Using the Torque Drive head reduces fatigue by distributing the weight across the tube. Ergonomics of the grip-I found it a bit uncomfortable after long periods of use on my inner part of the grip between my thumb and index finger. No true on switch-this is a well documented request for a while now. It would be less taxing if you didn't have to said a trigger for long cleaning sessions. No removable battery-another innovation that needs to be made. I have a competitor vacuum who does this already. Charge time-I think it averaged maybe 4 hours to go from completely dead to full. Verdict If you have money to buy the best, then this is it! Although the price is up there, you get what you pay for. This is not for everyone due to the price, but it IS for everyone!

22 Mar 2019

10 /10

Clean the whole house on a single charge!
I did not even think how traditional corded vacuum is restricted to the range of it's cord. I previously had to re-plug my upright vaccum about 6 times when cleaning. This portable Dyson vacuum is a great cord free solution! It does come with a plenty of power, 2 electrically powered brushes (10" wide and 6" wide), 2' extension and 4 passive attachments - 3 brushes of different sizes and one narrow attachment. Vacuum has 3 power settings - ECO, Auto or Medium and High. Auto mode is changing the power dynamically depending on what surface you use vacuum on saving battery life. I was able to clean my whole 2600 sq ft house with mostly carpeted floors on a single charge. Total cleaning time was about 30 minutes (Including moving the furniture and I had to empty the dust container once in the middle), total vacuum run time on the battery was around 25 minutes. I still had about 3 minutes left on the battery after I was completely done. Vacuum has a little display on the back which does show estimated battery run time left, value is a little pessimistic though, real run time was about 5 minutes longer than display predicted. Recharging the vacuum is easy, included power adapter and wall mounting bracket allow for easy vacuum storage and charging. Full charge takes about 4 hours. Dust bin is quick to empty by just holding it above the trash can and releasing the latches. Would I recommend this vacuum for the day to day cleaning? Absolutely! It's so nice to be able to move around freely. It does however has narrower brush (my upright vacuum has 14" powered brush) which means more back and forth movement is needed to cover the same floor space, additionally you do need to hold the whole vacuum weight in your hands while cleaning, opposed to the upright vacuum that just rides on the floor. Ability to hold 2 more attachments on the vacuum itself means that you don't have to run looking for the furniture brush while cleaning around. Overall - I highly recommend it, it's a great helper in any cleaning job at home and in your car.

20 Mar 2019

10 /10

Powerful, Multi-Function Vacuum
This is a full-featured, high-end cordless vacuum. Like most Dyson products (I own several) it seems very well engineered and has a thoughtful, user-friendly design. If you have read any of my reviews you know that I place importance on the packaging for its ecological consideration. The designer was a genius and was able to get all pieces (more about those below) in a cardboard box with a dozen smaller cardboard organizers and spacers. The vacuum is well protected for shipping and I was able to put virtually all of the packaging in the recycling bin. A big deal? Not for some, but for others who want to avoid Styrofoam and other non-recyclables, Dyson made a good choice. As usual for Dyson, the instructions for assembly of the vac and the docking station were almost exclusively in pictograms. (The box includes a brief, multi-lingual instruction for mounting the Docking Station, a larger Operating Manual, and a small illustrated “What you need to know” [their capitalization]). The concise Docking Station instructions were in about 40 different languages. Note: If you currently own an earlier Dyson cordless vac do NOT assume it will fit where the older docking station did. Measure carefully and allow for the increased depth of the new vac: 10”. Mounting the Docking Station took about 5 minutes and should not be a challenge for anyone with minimal DIY skills. The Operating Manual (in English and Spanish) is much more informative with color illustrations and highly readable text. It illustrates how to mount and store the power handle (motor) plus the seven attachments that give this vac nearly unlimited versatility. One interesting and useful feature is located at the rear of the power handle: a color display button that gives options for language, battery condition, alerts (blockages, etc.), vac status (Auto, Eco, Boost) and more. It is activated by a simple push, a long-standing Dyson convention. (See photo.) The various parts and attachments include a large floor unit, an extension tube, a crevice tool, and three varied furniture or countertop brushes. Two tools store in the Docking Station and two attach to the extension tube. They all snap together easily, firmly and solidly. The handle/power unit is reasonably comfortable (see comment below) and the updated dirt ejection function is a huge improvement over earlier models as it actually “pushes” the debris out and does not depend solely on gravity. How does it work as a vacuum? Wonderfully in most conditions that I tested. The Auto function adapts quickly from solid flooring to carpet without user action. I have a constantly-shedding golden retriever, so I used an older upright Dyson Animal vac and cleared an area, getting a lot of hair. I then went over the same space with the V11 and it picked up even more hair missed by the upright. It is a very powerful (for a cordless) vacuum and was able to suck up debris easily in almost all conditions, especially if I switched tools and chose the one most appropriate to the task. There are only two minor “negatives” in my opinion, both having to do with the size of the power unit. As mentioned, it is large and protrudes 10” from the wall when mounted. Second, the size and weight of the handle will limit overhead use to those with strong arms, wrists, and hands. It weighs almost 5 pounds without any attachments. As for size, see the photo comparing it to my old V6 model. In sum, an excellent product for those who need a powerful, multi-function cordless vac.

18 Mar 2019

10 /10

Well done Dyson
I am impressed, and trust me that is not easily done. Packaging is nice and well organized, honestly I have no idea how did they fit all those parts and extensions in that box. Device it's very powerful and very convenient to use. I am very impressed because I tried to use this device after cleaning up part of my house with another brand before testing this vacuum. That part of the house was supposed to be clean and after I used this device in same "previously cleaned area" waste bin was full of tiny unhealthy dust. I could not believe it. Vacuum comes with many attachment which are very helpful when switching configuration for home and car use or furniture and upholstery. If your home has stairs like mine does this vacuum is really must have and will make everything easier for you. No more caring of heavy vacuums on the stairs or fights with strangled power cords, because this device is very light and easy to be moved or carried around. Vacuum has 3 modes: Economy, Auto and Boost. Auto mode which is recommended will automatically adjust suction power between surfaces you are cleaning, Economy (ECO) will run longer on same steady power and Boost will run in full power intensive cleaning mode which has the shortest run time. All 3 mode will come with estimated battery run time displayed but in my experience vacuum has worked for little longer than estimated on display (this should calibrated itself with use). This vacuum is pretty quiet especially considering provided suction power. Emptying bin is new and fun feature, simply point your vacuum into trash bin and press red release tray - this will shoot the trash or dust out without any physical contact with it. Device comes with very nice "slide in" wall mountable holder, and it serve as charging base - cord just it must be manually plugged after placement of holder - that is only part that which could be better. Pros: Mobile Easy to use Cordless Very powerful suction Quiet Light Cons: Does not have any

17 Mar 2019

10 /10

Great cordless vacuum
DYSON V11 Torque drive Cordless Vacuum This is a cordless upright vacuum with a plethora of accessories. The upright portion fails in 1 aspect, there are no detents for it to remain upright if you just want to stop and move something. You have to balance it very carefully and hope it doesn’t fall over. It has 3 power setting, Boost (high), Medium (auto), and Economy (low). The vacuum head has a color LCD screen telling you what your settings are and if the filter needs cleaning or the debris cup needs emptying. It also gives you an estimate of run time in the current setting. This run time changes as you move from one floor type to another. A single charge of the battery is sufficient to clean a 1500 square foot house with a combination of wood and carpet floors. On Boost the vacuum head will develop 6 in Hg vacuum before it stops automatically and tells to empty the debris bin. On Med it only develops 2 in Hg vacuum, which is still enough to do a through job of cleaning standard floors. On ECO the vacuum drops to 1 in Hg vacuum, this is similar to a dust buster. With the addition of one of the brushes and on ECO it will run an hour, far longer than any battery-operated dust buster will. Make no mistake, dust busters have a solid spot in the cleaning market, this is a better version of one. It fits the hand well and the trigger is easy to pull. The function button and the LCD screen are always in clear view. It comes with an automated charger/charging rack. The charging system is intelligent and only charges the battery when it needs to. If you use the vacuum for just a minute or 2, it will check the battery level and not charge the battery. This is nice to see that it is keeping the battery life in check and not over charging. When using the charging rack it is almost a must to remove the long tube and floor beater brush because they will hang 7 ½” away from the wall. However the charging rack has 2 places to attach accessories, I used 1 for the long tube and large floor beater brush and the other for one of the standard brush accessories. The long tube has a holder on it for 2 other accessories, you can pick the ones you use most. The large beater brush for floor cleaner is powered and has a 9” active beater brush opening. Included is also a small beater brush for cars and upholstery. It is also powered and has a 4 ¾” opening. It does a great job dealing with pet hair and car carpets. The one accessory they do not seem to offer is a hose attachment. Like your normal vacuums have a hose to maneuver into cracks and what not, this unit must be maneuvered into that position. When using any of the accessories they are locked in place and do not turn in the vacuum head. This is very close to being unacceptable for the crevice tool. This is the one place that Dyson dropped the ball on this. Being able to rotate accessorie attachments, like the crevice tool, are a must for some areas. The cleaning of the debris bin is something you should practice before you need to do it. It kind of does nothing and then all at one time opens and throws what you have just picked up all over the place. Once I figured out that opening the debris bin can be done slowly, it was more controlled. Dyson shows the debris bin head completely enclosed in a trash bag, we all know that’s not going to happen. You will take it over to the closest trash can and empty it. With this said, practice before you really need to do it. It can be done in a controlled manner, don’t just push the handle all the way down. Push it with just enough force to disengage it from the vacuum head, it doesn’t open the debris door until it gets to the bottom. When it does open the door, it does it with force to ensure most all of the debris is removed. Practice this a few times and you’ll have a good understanding of what happens when and how to control it. I believe this cordless vacuum could replace your normal every day corded vacuum. It develops the same amount of vacuum a corded one does and is so much easier to deal with. I’ll just keep my corded one in the back of the closet for when I need a crevice tool on a hose. I did see many accessory kits for Dyson on line, and a hose is included in many of them. In time I may just buy one of those kits.