Dyson V11 Animal Review

https://mk0thegradew8rxpvnhw.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Dyson-V11-Animal.png
Product Review
91%
The Grade
Experts Say
86.67%
Consumers Say
95%

What the experts say

rtings logo

8 /10

Rtings found the V11 Animal to have great performance overall on most surface types although it did lag a little behind on carpet compared with hard floors and tasks like cleaning stairs or a car. Its pet performance was good although perhaps not as high as the name of the vacuum would suggest, partly down to there not being a pet grooming brush. It also was rated well for not needing bags. Negative points included the build quality feeling a bit plastic and a small bin that needed frequent emptying.

9 /10

The Gear Lab tests found the V11 wanting in the hard floor tests, in contrast to other reviewers, but with good performance in the carpet tests. It got good scores for ease of use and convenience as well, but ultimately got a lower score than its predecessor the V10.

9 /10

Pets Radar was impressed with the performance of the V11, especially when cleaning up after pets. The availability of 3 power modes was praised although it was pointed out that the highest setting eats through the battery life very quickly and with a 4.5 hour recharge time that could put a dent in your cleaning plans. Concerns were also raised concerning the price.

What users say

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Never going back to regular vacuums
I’ve wanted a dyson for a very long time and am so happy this is my first one! Everything is so easy to use. Battery life is great! It’s not heavy, fairly light! I’ve been cleaning it after every use because I want this to last as long as possible and even cleaning it is super easy. At first I wasn’t a fan that it didn’t have a light at the end so you could see what you’re vacuuming but if you’re paying so much for a vacuum you just have to trust that it’s picking up everything. With this super strong suction, it definitely picks up! I love the eco mode how it automatically switches from carpet mode to wood floor. My house really feels cleaner with this new tool! I feel like it’s a luxurious experience because you can feel the quality when you vacuum. Would recommend 110% especially if you have a pet that sheds so much like my dog!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great Vacuum
Great lightweight vacuum! Easy to use and picks up dog hair nicely!

31 Mar 2021

8 /10

Where are the LED lights?!?!
I got this Dyson 2 weeks ago and have developed a love/hate relationship! My home is 2500sq ft and most of it’s hardwood and tile. Cleaning the floors is easy and I love how it actually sucks up the fine dust particles however, this unit is heavy while cleaning window blinds. I like the mini motorized brush and obviously the torque drive head. I can easily clean all of my floors on one charge. I wanted a stick vacuum that was light weight, easy to use, and completely sealed to trap micro particles because sweeping just fluffed it all in the air. It does all of that! (Here’s some background info- I still have a perfect shark pro lift away/ rotator whatever it’s called. The purple $300 one and it tackles EVERYTHING. It gets deep into carpet and pulls up the light colored sticky dust and I vacuum every 2 days. My shark turns into many different style vacuums and has strong suction. It also has LED lights to illuminate the dust under dressers, bed frames, tables, etc....) Anyway, the point isn’t to rave about my Shark but it is to make a point about the price of the Dyson V11 animal and the lack of lights!! For $600 bucks it should have lights. I shouldn’t have to hold a flash light in one hand, bend down, and maneuver the vacuum. Since this vacuum is great the only improvement they can make on it would be to add lights but I’m assuming that’ll make it a $700-$800 vacuum. Oh and although this stick has great suction I wouldn’t just rely on it with carpets and rugs. You need a good corded vacuum for that. I vacuumed one day with the Dyson and hardly got anything other than carpet fibers and the next day I used my Shark and filled a quarter of the bin with dirt, fine dust, and carpet fibers. I don’t have animals, we don’t wear shoes in house, and food isn’t allowed in bedrooms so those weren’t factors at all. All in all, I enjoy my new addition but I would not. WOULD NOT buy this vacuum to clean a home that was mostly carpeted. It just isn’t strong enough to beat and suck the dirt up.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Yes- worth the money
I questioned whether this vacuum would be worth the money. I've bought several Dyson products - some I love; some I don't. But this one I love. It's very powerful. I think it cleans better than any vacuum I've ever owned (including other Dysons). It can reach far under furniture - which I love! Another reviewer wrote that the trigger should have a switch so it can lock in the ON position. I agree that would be handy. But this vacuum is worth the price.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Worth the $
I was on the fence about this vacuum for a while, but I'm so glad I got it to replace my clunky corded Shark. My Australian Shepherd sheds everywhere and I have a fairly large, 2500 square foot, two story house. I can vacuum my entire house on auto mode on one charge, and boost mode is so powerful that it gets every last dog hair off my furniture. Vacuuming is a breeze now instead of a chore. It's so simple to just grab the vacuum and quickly get rid of dust bunnies and clumps of fur as soon as I see them. Emptying the dust bin and changing attachments is quick and easy, and the floor attachment reaches way under my furniture, saving a lot of extra effort.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
The best vacuum cleaner ever! high quality, light weight, cordless, easy to use, easy to clean .... I had corded vacuum before and I didn't like to vacuum my house at all, but now I vacuum everyday easily. Just in 15 mins all my house is clean and my house in very big! The only thing that I didn't like about this vacuum is that you have to hold the on/off bottom the whole time that you are vacuuming. It is ok for me but it might not be ok for someone!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

All I can say is WOW!
I have an old dyson dc17 (from 2006) and always loved it, but I didn’t know how much technology has evolved until I got this one. I vacuumed with the dc17 and then vacuumed with the v11. Wow! The amount of dirt that came out was amazing! Since then, I vacuumed again and more dust came out! The only complaint I have is that the motor is too heavy. It’s not a problem when using the floor brush but it becomes a problem when vacuuming with the accessories or the AC vents for example. Well, and a minor issue is that the canister is too small. Overall, I think it’s great. Just need to find a place to attach it to the wall.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Best Vacuum!!
The best vacuum ever! Makes life so much easier, it is so convenient especially being cordless. I can go around the whole house without having to worry about constantly plugging it into another outlet. Long battery life, has many options of speed, and level options for carpet or hard floors. So worth its price!!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
I love this cordless vacuum!! It cleans great and it so nice not to have to deal with hanging onto the cord or it getting in the way!! Dyson products are expensive but well made and worth the price!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Best vaccum ever
I love this vaccum helps me a lot on cleaning

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Amazing
This thing is a life saver! I have cats and been wanting to get a new vacuum for awhile and I swear this thing has vacuumed up litter that’s been buried in my carpet for like 5 years. You can tell it really pulls up dirt and all that fun stuff. The attachments are amazing too for dust and furniture.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
The best vacuum I ever tried. I wish I got this sooner. We have dog hair everywhere in our house and this vacuum sucks everything!!! Works great for both hard floor and carpet. Highly recommended

31 Mar 2021

2 /10

Worst Vacuum I ever bought
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 3 months agoHi Vicky, this is Kelly with Dyson. We're sorry to hear that you've found your experience with the Dyson V11 Animal to be so disappointing. The sound you describe and the fact that suction has been lost are indicative of having a blockage in your machine. While we find most problems may be resolved via simple, yet effective troubleshooting at home, this is certainly not the kind of experience we expect for any of our valued owners. Rest assured, we're keen to learn more about your experience and provide you with support. Please feel free to contact us directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com. We look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Service

31 Mar 2021

2 /10

Really dissapointed in Target's quality control
I purchased this item online and was sent an obviously returned Dyson V11 Animal Cordless Stick Vacuum. The attachments were loose in the box and there was a large dent in the purple base. When you spend this much money on an item like this, you expect it to be brand new and not used. I'm truly saddened by this purchase and the hassle of trying to exchange/return it during the holiday season and ongoing pandemic. I'm truly shocked Target sent this to me in this condition.

31 Mar 2021

2 /10

Received a used vacuum
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 2 months agoHello there, this is Kelly with Dyson. We're sorry to hear that the machine you purchased was used. This is very unusual to hear. It's also very disappointing to hear that you were not able to return your unit to the store for a replacement. We would value the opportunity to provide you with further assistance. Please email us directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com. We're keen on providing support and learning more about your experience. Best wishes, Kelly Dyson Customer Support

31 Mar 2021

8 /10

Great Cordless Vacuum
This is a great vacuum! It picks up all the dirt, dust, and debris on ceramic and wood floors, and gets everything up from carpeting. The attachments are easy to switch around. I find the battery life is great - I have a 2,000 square foot house 3 rooms with hardwood floors, 2 rooms with ceramic floors, 3 carpeted rooms, 2 staircases, and 2 hallways and I get them all done without having to recharge. The trigger is a little awkward to get used to at first since you have to hold it down, but you get used to it. Having to hold the trigger down is the only downside I found to this, but definitely worth it!

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
It is by far the best vacuum I’ve ever had. Would 100% recommend it to anyone

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

(no review title)
Love this vacuum easy to move around with upstairs or down. Everyone should have one

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great cordless
Just got this Dyson but absolutely love it so far. I have had the Dyson Animal full size vacuum for many years and it has always worked beautifully. I wanted to try a cordless and because of my experience with Dyson decided to try this one. So far I have not been disappointed. It moves easily from hard floors to rugs and picks up great. The run time has been great so far. Time will tell how it holds up but I have great expectations.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

LOVE!!! a pug owners best friend
i love all dyson products! but will only purchase on sale since there’s always a sale. i had the v8 animal prior which seemed to die almost immediately after 3 years of use. we moved to a home with primarily carpet and needed to upgrade since we have a pug (sheds a lot!!!). it’s crazy seeing how much dust collects for how frequently we vacuum.

31 Mar 2021

10 /10

Amazing
The Dyson is so convenient and easy to use. The battery life is great- I can easily vacuum my 1900 sq ft entire house and then some. 100% happy with this purchase. Highly recommend.

24 Mar 2021

10 /10

Excellent vacuum
I brought this to replace my corded dyson, so glad I paid the extra for a cordless it is so easy to use. My granddaughter even commented how clean the carpets looked.

24 Mar 2021

2 /10

Be aware !!! Missing parts
1 reply from DysonProductExpert team - 23 days agoHello NN, Thank you for your review. This is Miella from Dyson. It can definitely be frustrating to be missing parts, and we're sorry to hear this was your experience. This is very peculiar for a sealed machine, and we can conclude that this was a return. Our Dyson experts are keen to assist by live chat, phone and email to help with issues like this. We hope you will continue to consider Dyson products for your home in the future. Best Wishes, Miella Dyson Customer Support

24 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great cleaner
Good cleaning and battery lasts a good length of time

24 Mar 2021

10 /10

Dyson V11 Animal
So far I would say fantastic suction and light to use so far nothing not to like about if

23 Mar 2021

10 /10

Super Duper Dyson
Excellent product. Easy to use, plenty of charge to do whole house, would certainly recommend it.

22 Mar 2021

10 /10

LOVE this vacuum!
I love my V11 Animal Stick Vacuum. I have the Animal Ball Vacuum which I love, but the stick is so much easier for quick every day vacuuming. We have two mini aussies & they shed A LOT! Not having to plug in to get the “tumbleweed” hair piles as we call them saves so much time. I was worried the bin would be too small, but so far no complaints. I like how it switches automatically from eco to boost depending on the floor type.

22 Mar 2021

10 /10

Game changer!
I never in my life thought I would spend so much money on a vacuum!! With a dog and kids my hardwood floors and rugs always have something on them and I freaking hate to vacuum- UNTIL NOW. This baby picks up everything, is light weight and sounds cool. Buy it. You won't regret it.

19 Mar 2021

10 /10

Love it!
This vacuum is so versatile and has many attachments. I purchased a stand on Amazon. Don’t know why I waited so long to get one, it’s a game changer. I have the regular Dyson, which I moved upstairs.

17 Mar 2021

10 /10

Carpets are like new!
I contemplated buying a Dyson for 2 years. I bought the Shark thinking it would be the same but cheaper. How wrong I was! The battery life is amazing, I can do the whole house and stairs and still not neeeeed to charge it (We’ve got a medium sized 3 Bed for reference) The carpets feel fluffy and restored and I love the carpet lines it leaves! If you’re deliberating it, don’t. I’ve used it daily since we bought it and the performance is nothing short of exceptional.

20 Jan 2021

10 /10

Dyson v11animal
I wasn't sure about this product as I never used Dyson before and didn't know if i should go for V7 or V11 as its not cheap ,but I researched and decided to get latest model V11 animal and guess what? It worth every penny. I have a new born baby at home and asthmatic husband. I really needed decent hoover to ensure that house is clean. I cannot describe how happy I am now .Best decision ever. Its so easy to use and 60 min is more than enough to clean whole house. Highly recommended!

05 Jan 2021

10 /10

Fabulous Dyson cordless vacuum cleaner
We bought this particular brand before and I can honestly say they are brilliant machines, we have had the upright vacuum in the past so this time we thought we would try the cordless and it is brilliant, the carpet looks great when we used this new cleaner on it, it cleans brilliantly the tuft on the carpet really looks lifted much better than the upright,hoovered with the upright then we hoovered again with the cordless and it's really surprising how much more came out of the carpet.

17 Jun 2020

2 /10

Not as advertised (be awaer for any future offers)
Have not reviewed the product just the experience of ordering.....40 mile round trip, over an hour to pick up at local Sainsburys to find that the alleged free "Dyson Dok" was not included, and to be precise not available in any Argos store within 100 miles!!! Try to confirm any free item is available or in stock before travelling to pick up, I will praise Argos staff a full refund for a very expensive item was offered straight away and the staff very apologetic 10 out of 10 for staff.

06 Mar 2020

10 /10

Love this vacuum
Amazing vacuum great does the job needed comes with attachments to clean in hard to get places great quality overall low the fact you can charge it

17 Oct 2019

10 /10

Great vacuum
Bought this to replace our shark vacuum. We vacuum at least twice a weeks with two kids and this dyson is way better! As you can see in the picture the Shark clearly wasnt doing the job.

12 Aug 2019

9 /10

Pros: Battery life indicatorTool kitTurbo boostEase of emptyingSize of dust bin
Cons: Cost

11 Aug 2019

10 /10

Pros: Easy to just pick up and use and your aren’t restricted as to how far you can go in the house with no cord. Loads of attachments for every job. Has a great battery life and it is easy to see how long you have left with the LED screen which is handy when switching between the 3 different modes.
Cons: Reviewer left no comment

29 Jul 2019

10 /10

Pros: I have rheumatoid arthritis and find it to be excellent, lightweight and importantly, well balanced. Cracking good buy!
Cons: Reviewer left no comment

26 Jul 2019

10 /10

Pros: It’s so light makes the job a lot easier
Cons: Reviewer left no comment

11 May 2019

4 /10

Pros: Easy to use.
Cons: Only the price, very expensive

27 Mar 2019

10 /10

Great Cordless Machine
This was my first time trying Dyson cordless vacuum and I simply loved it! It was very easy to assemble.The red buttons on attachments are very helpful. I live in a 2 bedroom apartment so I was able to vacuum without running out of battery. Auto mode is fantastic! I was really impressed that it automatically adapts from hardwood to carpet and other surfaces as needed. It came with a wall mount but no place to storage the other accessories. I guess you just have to put them in a different location. It is also very easy to empty the canister. I think it might be a little bulky if I want to vacuum the carpet in my car, but no big deal. Overall, I’m very impressed and would highly recommend the Dyson Animal V11!

26 Mar 2019

10 /10

Amazon Suction, Quiet, Great Battery Life
Pros: * Amazing suction - as good as our prior Dyson canister. * Great battery life - up to 60 minutes on a charge is more than enough for typical use between charges. * Quiet - seems a lot quieter than our prior v8 model. * Versatile - tools that are both useful and easy to use. Cons: * Powerhead is a bit heavy after prolonged handheld use. * Need to remove all attachments (including stick) to empty. I’ll try not to repeat anything that you can easily find in the user’s manual or Dyson web site and instead focus on stuff that you might only experience after using this update to the always-improving line of Dyson cordless vacuums. First the basics. The suction on this thing is amazing. I have owned quite a few prior Dyson models and the cordless ones always gave up a bit of the suction in favor of being cordless. This one is the first time I’m regularly reaching for my cordless vac instead of the corded one because it’s just that good. The dust bin is still quite a bit smaller than a typical full-size corded vacuum, but poor suction is no longer a reason to skip the cordless. The battery life is projected at around an hour of use with no motorized tools. If you’re doing the floors like you would with a corded vac, you’ll most likely be using the motorhead and thus get less than 60 minutes, but it’s still more than enough for a typical home or apartment. If you’re just doing touch up work around the house or car; 60 minutes of use is a lot. Prior models were not necessarily noisy, but this one is noticeably less loud. It also makes this really interesting sound when spinning down. I feel like I’m vacuuming with a pocket-sized muffled jet turbine. The wall bracket that was introduced in the last model (v10) is more of a drop-in charger rather than the prior ones that you had to maneuver up and down in a spring-loaded contraption. Now you just drop it in or lift it up - much easier! There’s even a nice status LED on both sides of the vac that indicate when its charging plus the full 3-segment battery level meter on the back (top when wall mounted). On to the new stuff - this particular model has a simple function display on the back of the powerhead. It has a indicators for when there might be a blockage, when the filter is removed and the battery level as indicated by 3 battery segments. There is also a single button to select the power mode; “Eco” for basic use and prolonged battery life, “Boost” for more power at the expense of battery life, and “Auto” where it figures out how much power you might need based on the suction demand at the moment. The motorhead tool has a mechanical switch with 3 settings as well; low, auto and high, to adjust the suction and power when doing floors. There’s a nice bracket that attaches to the tube and provides convenient storage for two tools such as the crevice and the brush tools. You can’t easily carry all of the tools like this, but having 3 tools on-hand is a nice feature. Putting my “nit-picky” hat on, there are really only two small complaints I have about this awesome vacuum; the first is that the powerhead (the handheld part) is a tad heavy to hold in one hand if you’re not resting its weight on the stick and the motorhead doing floors. If you’re just holding it in one hand to vacuum drapes or car seats, etc.., it can get a tad heavy after a while. The second is that you have to remove all tools including the tube to empty the dust bin because the dust bin opens in that direction. While this isn’t a huge deal, it does slow you down a bit if you need to empty the dust bin while in the middle of doing a larger job. Overall, the two small nits I mention above are far from deal breakers. This vacuum does its job admirably with great suction, great battery life, convenient features, and as-expected Dyson quality. You may find other cordless vacuums that claim to be “as good” for less money, but it is highly doubtful any of them can truly match the power, versatility and quality of this Dyson.

26 Mar 2019

10 /10

Could Replace Big Vacuum For Most Homes
When I heard that Dyson was going to stop developing their standard plug in / stand-up vacuums, I scoffed at the idea that they would ever get a cordless vacuum to work 1/2 as well as a Dyson Ball and they would have to pry my Ball - Animal 2 from my cold, dead hands! (I even bought some spare parts for it just in case they stopped production as well as development!) Having used the V11 Animal for a little over a week now, I think I might actually give up my Dyson Ball pretty willingly; the V11 is that good. I am a neat freak and I have cleaning devices all over the house (vacuums, steam mops, etc). I have been a Dyson fan since my first Dyson stand-up sucked up a full canister of junk from what I thought was a completely clean floor. I purchased one of the first cordless vacs when they came out, and while I was impressed at the power of it at the time, I never considered it a primary vacuum. I replaced my old cordless stick vac a few years ago with the V6 Absolute and while it was a dramatic improvement on my original stick vacuum, it still was in no way a threat to my stand up Dyson. I primarily used my V6 on the tile floors in my house (about half of my flooring in a 3000 sq/ft house) and some of the smaller rugs. I have two rooms downstairs with carpet, the library and my office, and there is probably about 400 sq/ft of vacuum area when you account for the furniture. For giggles, I thought I would try out the V11 and its new high torgue cleaner head (which seems to me like a bulked up version of the one from my V6). Having charged it all night to ensure a full battery, I gave it a go. The V11 stunned me with the power it had and how easy and fast it was to vacuum those spaces. I didn't have to switch plugs (because those two rooms are on different sides of the house), I didn't have to deal with the cord, and on its normal 'Auto' mode, it made the nice vacuum lines on the floor that I'm always looking for and it filled the bin with a remarkable amount of junk. I decided to keep going and do the remainder of the floors downstairs which are mostly tile with a few rugs and the the new cleaning head and Auto mode did a great job adjusting the suction and power depending on the floor type. I was also pleasantly surprised that the V11 is actually quieter than my V6, but that is mostly because I had to operate the V6 on turbo mode to get it to clean the way I wanted. The only drawback I found from this test was that the bin was completely full by the time I finished the floors downstairs, I'm attaching a picture of the bin from after the two carpeted rooms and the tile floors filled it the rest of the way. It was easy to empty though with a satisfying 'shotgun pump' action. This is far nicer and secure than the canister dump on the V6, though you do have to detach the tube or attachment from the front to make it work which you didn't have to do on the older models. I then went on to do the upstairs, which is mostly carpet, and it was again super easy since I didn't have to switch plugs multiple times but I did have to empty the bin twice (each time involving a trip downstairs to the garbage). It did a great job and I was extremely impressed. If Dyson could only find a way to have this amount of suction with a larger bin, this thing would be a no-brainer. I will say though that while the entire device is not nearly as heavy as my Dyson Ball, the fact that all the weight is mostly in your hand vs. on the floor takes a bit getting used to. It's more of a balance thing than a weight issue, at least for me. Another feature that I really like is the equipment caddy that now attaches to the extension tube when you are floor cleaning. Rather than stuffing the crevice tool and the combination tool heads in my pockets, they are both right there in easy reach and I can have the compact motorized head with me in my pocket. The caddy is super solid and doesn't slip or rotate around the tube (picture below). All-in-all, I am extremely impressed with the power and flexibility of the V11. I'm still on the fence on whether or not to get rid of my Dyson Ball vacuum but I'm thinking it is probably going to go. In the past Dyson has said that their V-Series of cordless vacuums could replace your corded ones, but now I actually believe them. Oh, I almost forgot, battery life! By the end of my vacuuming of the entire house using only Auto mode, I still had one segment of the battery indicator left (out of three). I have no idea what percentage of capacity it actually has left but it is good to know I can do the entire house in Auto mode with a complete charge. I guess with the upgraded model it actually give you a digital readout of the battery power on the back of the device but I didn't really need that feature. I would not hesitate to recommend the Dyson V11 Animal for anyone with a house smaller than mine, especially if they have the same makeup of carpet vs. tile/hardwood/linoleum. If you have all carpet of a larger house than me, then it is a real toss-up. The V11 will have all the power you need suction wise but perhaps not battery wise. Also, the repeated trips to empty the bin may offset the usefulness of the cordless feature.

24 Mar 2019

10 /10

I'm Impressed!
Dyson has been very successful in developing a brand that is highly regarded as innovative and cutting edge by the public. The Dyson SV14 V11 Animal cordless stick-type vacuum continues that reputation. I’ve owned an older DC35 since 2009. It had worn out its third battery and after ten years of service I decided it was time to see what the newest Dyson cordless stick-type vacuum had to offer. The newest model SV14 V11 shows that Dyson has improved every feature of this category of vacuum and has added a few more. To make a performance comparison I used my old DC35 to clean a throw rug at our back door as thoroughly as I could and then went over the same rug immediately with the new V11. It picked up an amazing amount of sand, dust, pollen and fibers that the DC35 had left behind just minutes before. Features: - A 25.2-volt battery and a new brushless digital DC motor in the upper section delivers twice the suction of any other cordless vacuum according to the Dyson literature. My personal results seem to back that claim up. - The Cleaner Head that rides on the floor or carpet, also has a high-torque motor but rather than run continuously at its highest speed and power, the head is computer controlled. When the V11 senses carpeting, it adds power to the Cleaner Head and upper vacuum motor to maintain brush RPM and increase the suction to lift the dirt from deep within the carpet. When it senses that the Cleaner Head is back on a hard floor surface, the power is reduced to appropriate levels. This constant sensing and adjustment ensures the cleanest floors possible with the lowest amount of battery drain. When the Cleaner Head moves back over the hard floor, you can hear the power decrease. - The upper power head contains a final stage hepa type filter that prevents fine dust particles from escaping the Dust Bin during operation. - The Dyson SV14 V11 has a large 0.2 gallon Dust Bin. When you want to empty the bin over a trash can, pushing one lever ejects the dust and dirt effectively with a shot-gun-pump-action-like mechanism. My older Dyson required banging the collection bin on the trash can to get the dust out. That sometime resulted in some of the dirt falling to the floor. - The V11 comes with several attachments both powered and unpowered to clean difficult spaces like stairs, chairs and automobile upholstery. - The stiff rotating bristles in the Cleaner Head combined with the very high suction force, clean carpeted stairs so well that it lifts the dirt filled crushed carpet in those high traffic areas and re-fluffs the fibers to refresh the flattened out high traffic areas of the carpet. PROS: - A much improved (compared to my old Dyson) on-off trigger is far more comfortable to use. - Automatic load sensing and variable power output extend battery life. - The configuration of the power brushes and Cleaner Head has been changed so that the head pushes forward through heavy carpet much easier than earlier Dyson models. - The ball-swivel head allows the vacuum to be easily maneuvered around corners and obstacles. - Includes a wall mounted charging station with necessary screws and brackets to mount the entire V11 and SOME of the vacuum accessories when they are not in use. - Vacuums various floor surfaces VERY well. CONS: - The extra power comes with extra weight. My old DC35 weighed 5 lbs. while the V11 weighs 6.5 lbs. - The V11 come with 4 extra head attachments, but the charging station only has mounting points for 2 of those attachments. There is a plastic clamp to mount two extra attachments to the main down-tube, but that makes the entire vacuum heavier and more awkward to use. That means 2 of the 4 attachments will wind up in a drawer someplace and may be forgotten.

21 Mar 2019

8 /10

Powerful Compact Vacuum
This is my first Dyson product, but I have heard the great reputation of the company and know others that praise their products. My rating being based on all factors, is docked one star for some minor details that do not represent any flaws in the device itself...in short the vacuum is great! My main complaint has to do with the dock and attachments. Dock Mounting: The included drywall mounting anchor are barely adequate. It is a typical low weight drywall fastener requiring a 7/32 bit (not stated anywhere) and a hammer to properly insert. That style while rated for holding the weight of the vacuum itself for sure, is not going to hold up to the constant docking and removal, the down force of making sure it seats properly will eventually pull the fasteners out of the wall. In my week of testing has this happened, NO, but experience tells me otherwise. I recommend either a toggle-bolt style anchor or Zip-It equivalent style anchor. The included fasteners tend to strip out the drywall and the backing plate will come loose. The included anchor also works with concrete/brick/block walls where as my recommendations do not. At the cost though, we are talking pennies so just included a better drywall anchor as an option. Attachments: The vacuum has a clip that will hold two of the attachments on board, and the dock has a further 2 spots to hold attachments, however, I found it frustrating that only one configuration exists to allow all attachments to be stored. Like I said this is definitely minor, but when a company prides itself in its innovation and testing (just watch their videos) and assumes a level of superiority over other products, I will hold it to the standard it says it has. The ONLY configuration that works is where the largest (and most used) floor head is attached to the dock and the fine bristle head (not combo unit) is attached next to it, leaving the upholstery head attached to the vacuum itself and the other attachments mounted to the extension pole clip. I just find that irritating as the most used part cannot be left on the device and keep all the other attachments neatly stored. A secondary complaint has to do with the included documentation or rather the lack of proper battery care instructions. This is becoming a major concern for me as ALL (yes ALL) products I have reviewed lately while extensively warn against the dangers of batteries and what will void a warranty, yet it never gives full detailed instruction for battery care. This device never actually states if the vacuum can be left docked past the charging time, one would assume so, but it doesn't actually state it, it does however state that if not being used for extended periods of time that it should be removed from the docking station. So what is Dyson's definition of "extended periods of time"? One week, one month, multiple months? That being said, you probably won't run into that problem in your normal routine because you will be using it a lot! Trigger: I get the design here is to give the maximum battery life per use, however, I question that when you start and stop using the head attachment as their is about 2-3 second delay before the attachment gets up to full speed. Also, for larger jobs like continuous floor space or car cleaning that may have your arm at awkward angles, it would be nice to have a trigger lock. And that is where the negatives end! It's a short list. My main intended use was for the dreaded carpeted stairs. I've dealt with corded handheld options, vacuums with extremely long extension tubes, battery-operated versions, and none have ever really cleaned the carpets and to the point where it is was pointless to even try. WELL NOT ANYMORE! This Dyson V11 sucks! But in the truest definition of the word. I have two small indoor dogs and have been living in my current home around 6.5 years, and it was a little embarrassing how much dirt and dog hair it picked up. I had to empty the bin half way through the task. Battery Run Time: I cannot say if it hit the claimed 60* min run time or not. However, I did manage to clean 150sqft of kitchen tile floor space (Eco), tested it out on about 20sqft of carpet (Eco), cleaned the stairs as mentioned (Boost), and cleaned a Honda Odyssey after a road trip (Eco) with said two dogs before the battery alerted me I was done. That's quite a few tasks completed on one charge, requiring bin cleaning 4 times. Oh and cleaned a sectional sofa twice (Eco). Always using either the larger floor attachment or the smaller roller attachment, both which use battery power to turn the heads, which is a huge plus to the suction based ones which are all but pointless. I would highly recommend this product as a spot cleaner, stair cleaner, household shop vac replacement (not for wet use), car interior cleaner, baseboard/crown molding cleaner, couch cleaner, etc. I would NOT get rid of you regular vacuum unless you are in smaller living space. The carpet cleaning will require Boost to get a good clean. With a 3.5 hour charge time in between fully depleted and fully charged, I'll need to space out my cleaning duties either by morning/evening or by days. This vac is going to get a lot of use and the construction and durability is solid for sure. The power is equivalent to a standard vacuum. Dumping the dust bin is an absolute cinch and a cleanable reusable filter is great. Accessing the bristle head in the rollers is also easy, so getting rid of tangled hair will be simple. Highly recommend doing it too, if not once it gets thick enough it will rob you of battery life by causing the bristle motor to work harder and vac motor to work harder. I think you will enjoy this greatly if you know what you will be using it for ahead of time, whole home cleaning, maybe if you space out timing, but as a do-it-all spot/specialty cleaner...DEFINITELY!