Cuisinart ICE100BCU Review

https://mk0thegradew8rxpvnhw.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Cuisinart-ICE100BCU-Ice-Cream-Maker.png
Product Review
93%
The Grade
Experts Say
91.5%
Consumers Say
94%

What the experts say

good housekeeping logo

8 /10

Good Housekeeping broadly liked the convenience of this self-freezing model including the auto switch off, countdown timer with beep and separate ice cream and gelato paddles. It also looks nice, is sturdy and is easy to clean. However, it was quite noisy and even started squeaking at points and the ice cream was hard to get off the paddle.

trusted reviews logo

10 /10

Trusted Reviews had a more positive opinion. It agreed that this is a very convenient machine (especially the fact you don't need to pre-freeze your ice cream). Most importantly it produced excellent results. It was also said to be quieter than smaller ice cream machines. The price tag was felt to be steep though.

What users say

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Treat yo self.
We purchased recently and it was a definitely a splurge item but we love it. We have made several batches of ice cream, gelato, sorbet and just made a sherbet today. I don’t think we buy ice cream ever again. We love that you can make more than one batch in a day.

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great gelato!
The machine is very easy to use and makes excellent gelato!

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Easy to use and great fun!
I received this little powerhouse as a Christmas gift this year. In three weeks I’ve made ice cream twice and gelato once. It’s ridiculously easy to use and great fun! We look forward to many years of kitchen creations with it.

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Ice cream....anywhere!
Using the recipes provided, this appliance makes perfect ice cream in an hour or less...every time. We spend a lot of time on our boat but we have never been able to have ice cream because the freezer just isn’t quite cold enough to hold it when we are at anchor. We can make a half batch anytime we want some ice cream and we don’t have to worry about keeping it...it’s gone in a few minutes!

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

WONDERFUL ICE CREAM MAKER!!!
Very happy with this purchase. Worth the cost. I have used it about 8 times, including 4 back to back batches without issue. It literally is plug and go. No need for salt or keeping bowls in freezer. Not too loud either. Makes Marble Slab/Cold Stone Creamery quality ice cream. As long as it lasts, I am extremely satisfied!

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Love it!
Easy to use, easy to clean and makes wonderful treats!

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker
We love it! Fast and easy and good ice cream every night!

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Ice cream maker.
Easy to use, easy to clean, and efficient. Takes up a bit of counter space, but easy to pick up and move.

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Best Christmas present ever - thanks Mom!
an amazing and easy to use machine. let your creativity be your guide and turn your favorite tastes into frozen deserts. So far i have made froyo, sorbet, ice cream, gelato, and custard in an assortment of flavors -- espresso, bananas foster, rice pudding, rum raisin, mango lassi, eggnog, cashew butter, and grapefruit just to name a few. I have started keeping a notebook to put down my ideas for what i want to try next. once your ingredients are mixed and chilled it works pretty fast - 30 to 45 minutes. one batch is enough for a large desert for 4 people or more civilized portions for a dinner party of 8. Getting all the ice cream off of the paddle can be a little messy, but overall cleanup is quick and easy as long as you do not overfill it... Best Christmas present ever - thanks Mom!

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Makes great ice cream!
This ice cream maker quickly freezes chilled base into smooth and creamy ice cream. It’s fairly quiet and cleans up easily.

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

There’s nothing like homemade ice cream!
Easy to use. Made a couple batches of ice cream that was delicious!

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Great ice cream maker
It works great. I am very happy with this purchase.

29 Mar 2021

8 /10

Nice easy to use ice cream maker
Works pretty well overall. My only complaint is that the mixer tends to pile up the ice cream on one side as the ice cream is thickening, such that it is about 30% taller then the other side. The ice cream reaches the top before being thickening to a point where it just all detaches from the tank and rides the mixer paddle. Therefore, the mixing stops, which usually happens after about 25 to 30 minutes of mixing. The recipes say 40 to 45 minutes, but it never takes that long for the mixing to stop and I don't see any reason to keep going without mixing, as the temperature of the outside will continue, but the inside won't be cooling. Ice cream is great though, but I do stop the mixing a couple times towards the end to push the ice cream on the high side down to keep it from climbing up and smearing on the lid.

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

Best Ice Cream Maker Ever
I love this ice cream maker. It works great and is not noisy like other units. The fact that I don’t have to freeze the bowl is awesome. I can make batch after batch.

29 Mar 2021

10 /10

ice cream lover
We love this ice cream machine. Easy to use and it makes great ice cream.

29 Mar 2021

8 /10

Great Gelato
I have been making gelato because it has less cream in it. The Gelato is great. However, it takes a bit of effort to make it. You have to cook the milk and cream on the stove for 15 minutes. and the entire mixture needs to cool to room temperature and then cool in the frig for 2 hours. So it makes great gelato, but it is not as simple as pour the stuff in the maker and hit the button. Fairly easy clean up. So I'm very happy, but making 2 pints of gelatto can be a 2 day event. With all that effort and expense, you may decide just to buy your own. The best part is that you know every single ingredient. So if you are into doing it yourself, this is the maker you want.

07 Mar 2021

10 /10

The Best
Best One out there. I waiting to get it on best buy instead of amazon to get the warranty and the financing and I don't regret the purchase !

15 May 2020

8 /10

Very loud
Love the machine and it is easy to use but it is wickedly loud.

13 Sep 2019

10 /10

great
great,would buy again wonderful,,,,,, ,fantastic,,fantastic,,fantastic

24 Jun 2017

10 /10

Great quality ice cream
Several batches out--all producing great quality ice cream. If you are looking to make large batches for big groups, this is NOT the ice cream maker for you as the capacity is fairly small. That being said, with the compressor, can run a larger batch in two parts and end up with a consistently high-quality product.

26 Jan 2017

8 /10

Good Ice Cream Maker
The Cuisinart ICE-100 is a good ice cream maker. I've noticed through various batches that the quality of the ice cream really hinges on the ingredients and recipe. If you use average ingredients and a basic recipe you will get ok ice cream. If you use good ingredients and a more advanced recipe you can get some really great ice cream. The ice cream comes out really soft right after churning - but that was the expectation going into this purchase. It still tastes good, but I don't mind having to stick the results in the freezer for a bit to get a more desirable consistency. My only criticism which keeps this from being rated higher is that the bowl isn't dishwasher safe. I hate having to wash it between every use by hand.

02 Jan 2017

8 /10

Ice cream
Purchased for my wife for Christmas. Product appears to work well. She says it should have a bigger capacity